Card terminals and readers for UK small businesses
38 devices and plans from 12 providers, sorted by the published in-person card rate. The rate is what you pay on every sale, so a cheap reader with a high rate costs more within months - the detail panel shows the device price, plan fees and the rates for online, Amex and international cards where published.
ElavonTetra Desk 5000 · Business Booster —Rental £1512-month contract 0.99% — Pricing page: Next day funding elavon.co.ukread 5 September 2026
- Amex rate
- Not published
- International cards
- Not published
- Connectivity
- Fixed countertop card machine; connection type not stated on the pages read; optional Lane 3600 customer PIN pad
- Account needed
- Not stated on the pages read
- Plan (as published)
- 'Business Booster - Desk' (At the counter) - '£15 monthly terminal fee'
- Device price (as published)
- Rental - '£15 monthly terminal fee'; '£0 joining fee'; VAT status not stated
- Settlement (as published)
- Pricing page: 'Next day funding'; product page: 'Get funds for the payments your business accepts on the same day' - both recorded
- Published rate tiers
- Pricing page: 'Transaction fees on Visa and Mastercard - Personal debit and credit cards: 0.99%'. Product page: 'From 0.99% transaction fee'. Other card types not published. 'Best for turnover of £40-200k'. Related 'Core All-in-one' plan (in person and online): '£15 monthly terminal and gateway fee', 0.99%, Tetra Desk or Tetra Move, gateway 16p/transaction, best for £40-100k.
- Eligibility
- '12 month contract' (pricing page); annual turnover over £200k directed to a bespoke solution
- Notes
- Product page: https://www.elavon.co.uk/accept-payments/point-of-sale/tetra-desk-5000.html. The 0.99% is published flat for Visa/Mastercard personal cards on the pricing page; the product page's 'From 0.99%' is noted.
Provider's published pricing →Read 5 September 2026.
ElavonTetra Move 5000 · Business Booster —Rental £1812-month contract 0.99% — Pricing page: Next day funding elavon.co.ukread 5 September 2026
- Amex rate
- Not published
- International cards
- Not published
- Connectivity
- 'Portable and always connected via WiFi, 3G or Bluetooth'; roaming 3G; standalone
- Account needed
- Not stated on the pages read
- Plan (as published)
- 'Business Booster - Move' (Around the store) - '£18 monthly terminal fee'
- Device price (as published)
- Rental - '£18 monthly terminal fee'; '£0 joining fee'; VAT status not stated
- Settlement (as published)
- Pricing page: 'Next day funding'; product page: 'Get funds ... on the same day' - both recorded
- Published rate tiers
- Pricing page: 'Transaction fees on Visa and Mastercard - Personal debit and credit cards: 0.99%'. Product page: 'From 0.99%'. Other card types not published. 'Best for turnover of £40-200k'. 'Preferential pricing for more terminals'.
- Eligibility
- '12 month contract' (pricing page); annual turnover over £200k directed to a bespoke solution
- Notes
- Product page: https://www.elavon.co.uk/accept-payments/point-of-sale/tetra-move-5000.html.
Provider's published pricing →Read 5 September 2026.
myPOSTap to Pay (no reader) · Standard tariff £0£0 excl £0 1.1% + 7p 1.3% + 15p Payout in seconds to the myPOS account mypos.comread 5 September 2026
- Amex rate
- 2.45%
- International cards
- 2.85%
- Connectivity
- Phone only ('Smartphone connectivity')
- Account needed
- myPOS merchant account with IBAN (included free)
- Plan (as published)
- Standard tariff - '£0 Fixed monthly costs' (under £10,000 monthly turnover)
- Device price (as published)
- '£0 excl. VAT' - smartphone only
- Settlement (as published)
- 'Payout in seconds' to the myPOS account (free)
- Published rate tiers
- Card present (under £10k monthly turnover): Domestic Consumer 1.10% + £0.07; EEA Consumer 2.20% + £0.07; American Express 2.45% + £0.07; all other consumer and commercial cards 2.85% + £0.07.
- Eligibility
- Compatible smartphone
- Notes
- Listed on https://www.mypos.com/en-gb/buy-card-machine alongside the readers; the card-present tariff is assumed to apply because the page lists no separate Tap to Pay rate - flagged.
Provider's published pricing →Read 5 September 2026.
myPOSmyPOS Go 2 · Standard tariff £39£39 excl £0 1.1% + 7p 1.3% + 15p Payout in seconds to the myPOS account mypos.comread 5 September 2026
- Amex rate
- 2.45%
- International cards
- 2.85%
- Connectivity
- 'Free DATA SIM card and Wi-Fi'; standalone; digital receipts only
- Account needed
- myPOS merchant account with IBAN (included free); payouts land there instantly
- Plan (as published)
- Standard tariff - '£0 Fixed monthly costs' (under £10,000 monthly turnover)
- Device price (as published)
- '£39 excl. VAT'
- Settlement (as published)
- 'Payout in seconds' to the myPOS account (free)
- Published rate tiers
- Card present, under £10,000 monthly turnover: Domestic Consumer cards '1.10% + £0.07'; EEA Consumer cards '2.20% + £0.07'; American Express '2.45% + £0.07'; All other consumer and commercial cards '2.85% + £0.07'. Over £10,000 monthly turnover: 'Custom offer'. Card not present (online): Domestic Consumer '1.30% + £0.15'; American Express '2.50% + £0.15'; all other consumer and commercial cards '2.90% + £0.15'; MO/TO = online payment fee + 0.5%.
- Eligibility
- Standard tariff applies under £10,000 monthly turnover; custom offer above
- Notes
- Device price and connectivity from https://www.mypos.com/en-gb/buy-card-machine. international_card_rate_pct is the 'All other consumer and commercial cards' (non-EEA) rate; EEA consumer cards are 2.20% + £0.07. Contract term not stated on the pages read; homepage says 'no set-up or monthly service fees'. VAT status of transaction fees not stated.
Provider's published pricing →Read 5 September 2026.
myPOSmyPOS Flex · Standard tariff £59£59 excl £0 1.1% + 7p 1.3% + 15p Payout in seconds to the myPOS account mypos.comread 5 September 2026
- Amex rate
- 2.45%
- International cards
- 2.85%
- Connectivity
- 'Free DATA SIM card, Bluetooth, and Wi-Fi'; standalone; digital receipts only
- Account needed
- myPOS merchant account with IBAN (included free)
- Plan (as published)
- Standard tariff - '£0 Fixed monthly costs' (under £10,000 monthly turnover)
- Device price (as published)
- '£59 excl. VAT'
- Settlement (as published)
- 'Payout in seconds' to the myPOS account (free)
- Published rate tiers
- Card present (under £10k monthly turnover): Domestic Consumer 1.10% + £0.07; EEA Consumer 2.20% + £0.07; American Express 2.45% + £0.07; all other consumer and commercial cards 2.85% + £0.07. Over £10k: custom offer. Online: Domestic Consumer 1.30% + £0.15; Amex 2.50% + £0.15; other 2.90% + £0.15.
- Eligibility
- Standard tariff under £10,000 monthly turnover
- Notes
- Device price from https://www.mypos.com/en-gb/buy-card-machine.
Provider's published pricing →Read 5 September 2026.
myPOSmyPOS Go Combo · Standard tariff £169£169 excl £0 1.1% + 7p 1.3% + 15p Payout in seconds to the myPOS account mypos.comread 5 September 2026
- Amex rate
- 2.45%
- International cards
- 2.85%
- Connectivity
- 'Free DATA SIM card and Wi-Fi'; printed and digital receipts; 'Up to 2 full days of battery life'; standalone
- Account needed
- myPOS merchant account with IBAN (included free)
- Plan (as published)
- Standard tariff - '£0 Fixed monthly costs' (under £10,000 monthly turnover)
- Device price (as published)
- '£169 excl. VAT'
- Settlement (as published)
- 'Payout in seconds' to the myPOS account (free)
- Published rate tiers
- Card present (under £10k monthly turnover): Domestic Consumer 1.10% + £0.07; EEA Consumer 2.20% + £0.07; American Express 2.45% + £0.07; all other consumer and commercial cards 2.85% + £0.07. Over £10k: custom offer.
- Eligibility
- Standard tariff under £10,000 monthly turnover
- Notes
- Device price from https://www.mypos.com/en-gb/buy-card-machine.
Provider's published pricing →Read 5 September 2026.
myPOSmyPOS Ultra · Standard tariff £179£179 excl £0 1.1% + 7p 1.3% + 15p Payout in seconds to the myPOS account mypos.comread 5 September 2026
- Amex rate
- 2.45%
- International cards
- 2.85%
- Connectivity
- 'Free DATA SIM card, Bluetooth, and Wi-Fi'; printed and digital receipts; standalone
- Account needed
- myPOS merchant account with IBAN (included free)
- Plan (as published)
- Standard tariff - '£0 Fixed monthly costs' (under £10,000 monthly turnover)
- Device price (as published)
- '£179 excl. VAT'
- Settlement (as published)
- 'Payout in seconds' to the myPOS account (free)
- Published rate tiers
- Card present (under £10k monthly turnover): Domestic Consumer 1.10% + £0.07; EEA Consumer 2.20% + £0.07; American Express 2.45% + £0.07; all other consumer and commercial cards 2.85% + £0.07. Over £10k: custom offer.
- Eligibility
- Standard tariff under £10,000 monthly turnover
- Notes
- Device price from https://www.mypos.com/en-gb/buy-card-machine.
Provider's published pricing →Read 5 September 2026.
DojoTap to Pay on iPhone (no reader) · Essential £0£0 £0 1.2% — Get your takings next day dojo.techread 5 September 2026
- Amex rate
- Not published
- International cards
- Not published
- Connectivity
- iPhone only ('Take payments quickly and easily with your Apple iPhone')
- Account needed
- Not stated on the pricing page
- Plan (as published)
- Essential ('Free' per month/location)
- Device price (as published)
- '£0' - 'No contract'
- Settlement (as published)
- 'Get your takings next day'
- Published rate tiers
- Below £100,000 annual card turnover: 1.2% blended rate 'for all card transactions'. Above £100,000: custom rate.
- Eligibility
- Compatible iPhone
- Notes
- Included as the provider's published no-hardware alternative on the same pricing page.
Provider's published pricing →Read 5 September 2026.
DojoDojo Go Max · Essential £149Pay upfront £149 £0 1.2% — Get your takings next day dojo.techread 5 September 2026
- Amex rate
- Not published
- International cards
- Not published
- Connectivity
- 'Connects automatically to Wi-Fi or any available 4G network' ('Dual connectivity'); built-in thermal printer; 6.5-inch touchscreen; standalone
- Account needed
- Not stated on the pricing page (Dojo is a trading name of Paymentsense Limited, FCA-authorised and registered under the Electronic Money Regulations 2011)
- Plan (as published)
- Essential ('Free' per month/location); Plus '£25' per month/location ('£11.99*' offer for new customers and new locations from 24 August 2026); 'New customers get 1 month free'
- Device price (as published)
- 'Pay upfront £149' ('Launch offer', struck-through £229) or 'Pay monthly £25'; VAT status not stated on the page
- Settlement (as published)
- 'Get your takings next day'
- Published rate tiers
- 'Below £100,000 Annual card turnover - All-in blended rate: Get clear and predictable bills with a 1.2% blended transaction rate for all card transactions.' 'Above £100,000 Annual card turnover - Custom rate: Lock in your best rate with a 12-month fixed plan or choose 30-day rolling.' 'Above £5 million' - bespoke blended rates. 'We accept all major card schemes' - no separate Amex or international rate published; no online rate published on this page.
- Eligibility
- The 1.2% blended rate is published for businesses below £100,000 annual card turnover; custom pricing above
- Notes
- Page returned HTTP 403 to the primary fetch tool and was read from the engine box with a browser User-Agent. Contract term for the pay-monthly hardware option is not stated on the page (the '12-month fixed plan or 30-day rolling' wording sits under the above-£100k tier), so contract_months is null. 'Contract buyout up to £3,000' is advertised for switchers.
Provider's published pricing →Read 5 September 2026.
DojoDojo Wired · Essential £179Pay upfront £179 £0 1.2% — Get your takings next day dojo.techread 5 September 2026
- Amex rate
- Not published
- International cards
- Not published
- Connectivity
- 'Connects automatically to Wi-Fi or any available 4G network'; countertop/kiosk device 'fixed to kiosks or counters'; 4-inch screen
- Account needed
- Not stated on the pricing page
- Plan (as published)
- Essential ('Free' per month/location); Plus '£25' per month/location ('£11.99*' new-customer offer)
- Device price (as published)
- 'Pay upfront £179' ('Save 20%') or 'Pay monthly £15'; VAT status not stated on the page
- Settlement (as published)
- 'Get your takings next day'
- Published rate tiers
- Below £100,000 annual card turnover: 1.2% blended rate 'for all card transactions'. Above £100,000: custom rate (12-month fixed or 30-day rolling). Above £5 million: bespoke.
- Eligibility
- 1.2% blended rate published for below £100,000 annual card turnover
- Notes
- Read from the engine box (page 403s the primary fetch tool). Contract term for pay-monthly not stated.
Provider's published pricing →Read 5 September 2026.
DojoDojo Pocket · Essential £239Pay upfront £239 £0 1.2% — Get your takings next day dojo.techread 5 September 2026
- Amex rate
- Not published
- International cards
- Not published
- Connectivity
- 'Connects automatically to Wi-Fi or any available 4G network'; portable orders-and-payments handheld (170 x 70 x 14.7 mm, 143 g); no printer mentioned
- Account needed
- Not stated on the pricing page
- Plan (as published)
- Essential ('Free' per month/location); Plus '£25' per month/location ('£11.99*' new-customer offer)
- Device price (as published)
- 'Pay upfront £239' ('Save 20%') or 'Pay monthly £20'; VAT status not stated on the page
- Settlement (as published)
- 'Get your takings next day'
- Published rate tiers
- Below £100,000 annual card turnover: 1.2% blended rate 'for all card transactions'. Above £100,000: custom rate (12-month fixed or 30-day rolling). Above £5 million: bespoke.
- Eligibility
- 1.2% blended rate published for below £100,000 annual card turnover
- Notes
- Read from the engine box (page 403s the primary fetch tool). Contract term for pay-monthly not stated.
Provider's published pricing →Read 5 September 2026.
Stripe (Stripe Terminal)BBPOS WisePad 3 · Standard pay-as-you-go £49£49.00 excluding VAT £0 1.4% + 10p 1.5% + 20p As published: Opt to receive transfers… stripe.comread 5 September 2026
- Amex rate
- Not published
- International cards
- 2.9%
- Connectivity
- Bluetooth (or USB on Android) via a phone or tablet running a Stripe Terminal app; no standalone mode
- Account needed
- Stripe account; payouts to your bank account
- Plan (as published)
- Standard pay-as-you-go ('Stripe does not charge setup fees, monthly fees, or any other hidden fees like closure fees')
- Device price (as published)
- '£49.00' excluding VAT
- Settlement (as published)
- As published: 'Opt to receive transfers on a rolling basis, weekly, or monthly' - payout speed not stated on the pricing page
- Published rate tiers
- In person: '1.4% + 10p per successful charge for EEA cards'; '2.9% + 10p per successful charge for non-EEA cards'; Tap to Pay '+10p per authorisation'; optional point-to-point encryption '+4p per authorisation'. Online: '1.5% + 20p for standard UK cards'; '2.5% + 20p for European Economic Area cards'; '3.15% + 20p for international cards'; '+2% if currency conversion is required'. Mobile (cellular) service '£7.00 per reader per month' on enabled readers. No separate American Express rate published.
- Eligibility
- Stripe Terminal is a developer product: readers work with a point-of-sale app built on Stripe's SDKs or a Stripe-integrated POS. Reader S700/S710 also offer a no-code 'standalone mode' (public preview) - see https://docs.stripe.com/terminal/readers
- Notes
- Hardware prices also shown on https://stripe.com/gb/terminal ('£49 Excl. VAT'). international_card_rate_pct is the non-EEA in-person rate; EEA cards are charged at the domestic in-person rate. Connectivity from Stripe's reader documentation (https://docs.stripe.com/terminal/readers).
Provider's published pricing →Read 5 September 2026.
Stripe (Stripe Terminal)Stripe Reader S700 · Standard pay-as-you-go £229£229.00 excluding VAT £0 1.4% + 10p 1.5% + 20p Opt to receive transfers on a rolling b… stripe.comread 5 September 2026
- Amex rate
- Not published
- International cards
- 2.9%
- Connectivity
- Internet - Wi-Fi or Ethernet (smart reader with touchscreen); no cellular
- Account needed
- Stripe account; payouts to your bank account
- Plan (as published)
- Standard pay-as-you-go (no setup or monthly fees)
- Device price (as published)
- '£229.00' excluding VAT
- Settlement (as published)
- 'Opt to receive transfers on a rolling basis, weekly, or monthly' - payout speed not stated on the pricing page
- Published rate tiers
- In person 1.4% + 10p EEA cards; 2.9% + 10p non-EEA cards; optional P2PE +4p per authorisation. Online 1.5% + 20p UK cards; 2.5% + 20p EEA; 3.15% + 20p international; +2% currency conversion.
- Eligibility
- Works with a Stripe-integrated POS app or in no-code 'standalone mode' (public preview)
- Notes
- Also listed on https://stripe.com/gb/terminal at '£229 Excl. VAT'. Connectivity from https://docs.stripe.com/terminal/readers.
Provider's published pricing →Read 5 September 2026.
Stripe (Stripe Terminal)Stripe Reader S710 · Standard pay-as-you-go £229£229.00 excluding VAT £0 1.4% + 10p 1.5% + 20p Opt to receive transfers on a rolling b… stripe.comread 5 September 2026
- Amex rate
- Not published
- International cards
- 2.9%
- Connectivity
- Internet (Wi-Fi/Ethernet) plus 4G LTE cellular ('S710 supports 4G LTE connectivity in locations without reliable WiFi'); cellular use requires the £7.00 per reader per month mobile service
- Account needed
- Stripe account; payouts to your bank account
- Plan (as published)
- Standard pay-as-you-go (no setup or monthly fees); optional mobile service £7.00 per reader per month
- Device price (as published)
- '£229.00' excluding VAT
- Settlement (as published)
- 'Opt to receive transfers on a rolling basis, weekly, or monthly' - payout speed not stated on the pricing page
- Published rate tiers
- In person 1.4% + 10p EEA cards; 2.9% + 10p non-EEA cards. Online 1.5% + 20p UK cards; 2.5% + 20p EEA; 3.15% + 20p international. Mobile service '£7.00 per reader per month' (unlimited cellular data on enabled readers; Apps on Devices data capped at 10 GB monthly).
- Eligibility
- Works with a Stripe-integrated POS app or in no-code 'standalone mode' (public preview)
- Notes
- Also listed on https://stripe.com/gb/terminal at '£229 Excl. VAT'. Lloyds Bank resells this same device under Lloyds Accept at £230 + VAT (see the Lloyds Accept rows).
Provider's published pricing →Read 5 September 2026.
Stripe (Stripe Terminal)Stripe Reader T600 · Standard pay-as-you-go £249£249.00 excluding VAT £0 1.4% + 10p 1.5% + 20p Opt to receive transfers on a rolling b… stripe.comread 5 September 2026
- Amex rate
- Not published
- International cards
- 2.9%
- Connectivity
- Not described on the pages read
- Account needed
- Stripe account; payouts to your bank account
- Plan (as published)
- Standard pay-as-you-go (no setup or monthly fees)
- Device price (as published)
- '£249.00' excluding VAT
- Settlement (as published)
- 'Opt to receive transfers on a rolling basis, weekly, or monthly' - payout speed not stated on the pricing page
- Published rate tiers
- In person 1.4% + 10p EEA cards; 2.9% + 10p non-EEA cards. Online 1.5% + 20p UK cards; 2.5% + 20p EEA; 3.15% + 20p international.
- Eligibility
- Works with a Stripe-integrated POS app
- Notes
- Listed at £249.00 excl. VAT on the GB pricing page only; it did not appear on the GB Terminal product page (https://stripe.com/gb/terminal) or in the docs' GB availability table on the check date - treat as newly listed and re-verify.
Provider's published pricing →Read 5 September 2026.
Lloyds Bank (Lloyds Accept)Tap to Pay on iPhone / Android (no reader) · Lloyds Accept £0No set-up costs, monthly fees… £0 1.5% + 20p 1.5% + 20p Settlement time: 3 business days lloydsbank.comread 5 September 2026
- Amex rate
- Not published
- International cards
- 3%
- Connectivity
- Phone only (Tap to Pay on iPhone and Tap to Pay on Android)
- Account needed
- Lloyds Bank or Bank of Scotland business account
- Plan (as published)
- Lloyds Accept - 'Just transaction fees starting at 1.5% + 20p'
- Device price (as published)
- 'No set-up costs, monthly fees or cancellation charges'
- Settlement (as published)
- 'Settlement time: 3 business days'
- Published rate tiers
- 'Most transaction fees will have the standard transaction fee of 1.5% + 20p. Other fees apply if your customer uses a premium or international card.' Fee grid: UK Debit/Credit 1.5% + 20p; UK Business 2.0% + 20p; EU and international 3% + 20p.
- Eligibility
- Lloyds/Bank of Scotland business account holders with estimated annual card turnover up to £100,000; 'most cost-effective for businesses with an annual card turnover under £100,000'
- Notes
- Included as the bank's published no-hardware option on the same tariff.
Provider's published pricing →Read 5 September 2026.
TideTap to Pay on iPhone (no reader) · Pay As You Go £0No hardware £0 1.5% + 11p — within 3 business days tide.coread 5 September 2026
- Amex rate
- Not published
- International cards
- Not published
- Connectivity
- Phone only (Tap to Pay on iPhone)
- Account needed
- Tide business account only
- Plan (as published)
- Pay As You Go (optional 'Sell In-Person' subscription £17.99 + VAT per month)
- Device price (as published)
- No hardware - Tide app on a compatible iPhone
- Settlement (as published)
- 'within 3 business days'; next business day settlement for '£2.99 + VAT per month'
- Published rate tiers
- Tap to Pay: Pay As You Go '1.5% + 11p'; with Sell In-Person (£17.99 + VAT per month) '0.89% +3p'. Domestic consumer debit cards only.
- Eligibility
- Tide members with a compatible iPhone
- Notes
- Included as the provider's published no-hardware alternative; the same page is the source of all Tide transaction rates.
Provider's published pricing →Read 5 September 2026.
TideTide Nano · Pay As You Go £11From £11 + VAT £0 1.5% + 5p — payments are cleared within 3 working d… tide.coread 5 September 2026
- Amex rate
- Not published
- International cards
- Not published
- Connectivity
- Bluetooth via phone ('Just connect it to your phone using Bluetooth, open the Tide app'); 'Uses your phone screen'
- Account needed
- Tide business account - 'The Tide Card Readers are only compatible with Tide business bank accounts'; payments processed by Adyen into a merchant account then paid to the Tide account
- Plan (as published)
- Pay As You Go (optional 'Sell In-Person' subscription £17.99 + VAT per month)
- Device price (as published)
- 'From £11 + VAT'
- Settlement (as published)
- 'payments are cleared within 3 working days'; 'Next Day Settlement' add-on '£2.99 + VAT per month' for next business day settlement
- Published rate tiers
- Card reader: Pay As You Go '1.5% +5p'; with Sell In-Person (£17.99 + VAT monthly fee) '0.89% +3p'. Tap to Pay: Pay As You Go '1.5% + 11p'; with Sell In-Person '0.89% +3p'. '*Transaction fees for domestic consumer debit cards. All other card types and fees are as defined in the Tide Membership and Product Terms' - no Amex, commercial or international rate published on the page.
- Eligibility
- Tide members only. Tide says Sell In-Person saves money above £2,900 of monthly card payments (card-reader page) / £2,200 (tap-to-pay page); custom deals offered above £8,300 a month
- Notes
- Transaction rates come from https://www.tide.co/features/tap-to-pay/ - the card-reader page publishes no rates. That page's own 'Card reader device cost' row shows 'From £99' (Sell In-Person) / 'From £159' (Pay As You Go), which does not match the card-reader page's from-prices recorded here; discrepancy flagged, not resolved. Contract term not stated.
Provider's published pricing →Read 5 September 2026.
Lloyds Bank (Lloyds Accept)BBPOS WisePad 3 (via Lloyds Accept) · Lloyds Accept £49BBPOS WisePad 3, £49 + VAT £0 1.5% + 20p 1.5% + 20p Settlement time: 3 business days lloydsbank.comread 5 September 2026
- Amex rate
- Not published
- International cards
- 3%
- Connectivity
- 'a small rechargeable card reader connected to the Lloyds Accept app' on your phone (Bluetooth)
- Account needed
- Lloyds Bank or Bank of Scotland business account
- Plan (as published)
- Lloyds Accept - 'No monthly payments or contract tying you down'
- Device price (as published)
- 'BBPOS WisePad 3, £49 + VAT' - 'Just the one-off payment and transaction fees'
- Settlement (as published)
- 'Settlement time: 3 business days'
- Published rate tiers
- UK-based Mastercard and Visa: Debit '1.5% + 20p'; Credit '1.5% + 20p'; Business '2.0% + 20p' - same for in person and online/phone. 'EU and international cards will be charged a transaction fee of 3% + 20p.' Authorisation fee 0p; chargeback fee £20.00; minimum monthly service charge £0.00; no terminal, gateway or PCI DSS monthly charges. Payment brands accepted: Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Discover (Diners) - no separate Amex rate published.
- Eligibility
- Must 'have a Lloyds Bank or Bank of Scotland business account', not already be taking payments with Lloyds, want to take payments on mobile or by payment link, and 'have an estimated annual card turnover up to £100,000'. 'You can't apply for Lloyds Accept if you're already using another Lloyds card payment acceptance solution.'
- Notes
- Reader prices from https://www.lloydsbank.com/business/take-payments-with-lloyds-accept.html: 'You can order a card reader once you're set up with Lloyds Accept - no additional approval and no monthly contract.' international_card_rate_pct is the published 'EU and international cards' rate (+20p).
Provider's published pricing →Read 5 September 2026.
TideTide Card Reader · Pay As You Go £69From £69 + VAT £0 1.5% + 5p — payments are cleared within 3 working d… tide.coread 5 September 2026
- Amex rate
- Not published
- International cards
- Not published
- Connectivity
- 'WiFi connectivity and lifetime free 4G connectivity' (SIM included); 4-inch touch display; 'Send receipts over email only'; standalone - no need for the app
- Account needed
- Tide business account only; payments processed by Adyen
- Plan (as published)
- Pay As You Go (optional 'Sell In-Person' subscription £17.99 + VAT per month)
- Device price (as published)
- 'From £69 + VAT'
- Settlement (as published)
- 'payments are cleared within 3 working days'; next business day settlement for '£2.99 + VAT per month'
- Published rate tiers
- Pay As You Go '1.5% +5p'; with Sell In-Person (£17.99 + VAT per month) '0.89% +3p'. Rates are 'for domestic consumer debit cards' only; other card types per the Tide Membership and Product Terms.
- Eligibility
- Tide members only
- Notes
- Rates from https://www.tide.co/features/tap-to-pay/. See Tide Nano row for the device-price discrepancy between Tide's two pages.
Provider's published pricing →Read 5 September 2026.
TideTide Card Reader Plus · Pay As You Go £89From £89 + VAT £0 1.5% + 5p — payments are cleared within 3 working d… tide.coread 5 September 2026
- Amex rate
- Not published
- International cards
- Not published
- Connectivity
- 'Wifi connectivity & lifetime free 4G'; 5.5-inch touch display; 'Print paper receipts and copies over email'; standalone
- Account needed
- Tide business account only; payments processed by Adyen
- Plan (as published)
- Pay As You Go (optional 'Sell In-Person' subscription £17.99 + VAT per month)
- Device price (as published)
- 'From £89 + VAT'
- Settlement (as published)
- 'payments are cleared within 3 working days'; next business day settlement for '£2.99 + VAT per month'
- Published rate tiers
- Pay As You Go '1.5% +5p'; with Sell In-Person (£17.99 + VAT per month) '0.89% +3p'. Domestic consumer debit cards only; other card types per the Tide Membership and Product Terms.
- Eligibility
- Tide members only; 'designed for taking frequent payments'
- Notes
- Rates from https://www.tide.co/features/tap-to-pay/.
Provider's published pricing →Read 5 September 2026.
Lloyds Bank (Lloyds Accept)Stripe Reader S710 (via Lloyds Accept) · Lloyds Accept £230Stripe Reader S710, £230 + VAT £0 1.5% + 20p 1.5% + 20p Settlement time: 3 business days lloydsbank.comread 5 September 2026
- Amex rate
- Not published
- International cards
- 3%
- Connectivity
- 'an all-in-one smart device with touchscreen' - connection type not described on the Lloyds page (Stripe's own page lists Wi-Fi/Ethernet plus 4G LTE for the S710)
- Account needed
- Lloyds Bank or Bank of Scotland business account
- Plan (as published)
- Lloyds Accept - 'No monthly payments or contract tying you down'
- Device price (as published)
- 'Stripe Reader S710, £230 + VAT' - one-off payment
- Settlement (as published)
- 'Settlement time: 3 business days'
- Published rate tiers
- UK-based Mastercard and Visa: Debit and Credit 1.5% + 20p; Business 2.0% + 20p (in person and online/phone). EU and international cards 3% + 20p. Authorisation fee 0p; chargeback £20.00; MMSC £0.00.
- Eligibility
- Lloyds/Bank of Scotland business account holders with estimated annual card turnover up to £100,000, not already taking payments with Lloyds
- Notes
- Reader price from https://www.lloydsbank.com/business/take-payments-with-lloyds-accept.html. Same hardware as the Stripe Reader S710 row (£229 ex VAT direct from Stripe).
Provider's published pricing →Read 5 September 2026.
SumUpTap to Pay on iPhone & Android (no reader) · Pay-as-you-go £0No hardware £0 1.69% 2.5% Next day by 7am, even on weekends and b… sumup.comread 5 September 2026
- Amex rate
- 1.69%
- International cards
- 1.69%
- Connectivity
- Phone only (Tap to Pay on iPhone and Android)
- Account needed
- SumUp account - money is paid into the SumUp Business Account
- Plan (as published)
- Pay-as-you-go ('£0/month'; optional Payments Plus from £15.75/month)
- Device price (as published)
- No hardware - 'There's no cost to get started'; uses an iPhone running the latest iOS or an NFC Android phone/tablet on Android 11 or higher with the free SumUp Business app
- Settlement (as published)
- Next day by 7am, 'even on weekends and bank holidays', into the SumUp Business Account
- Published rate tiers
- Pay-as-you-go '1.69%'; Payments Plus '0.99%' (domestic consumer cards); '0% fees' when customers pay with a SumUp personal card. Online 2.5% (pricing page).
- Eligibility
- Compatible iPhone (latest iOS) or NFC Android device on Android 11+
- Notes
- Included because it is a direct published alternative to a reader on the same provider line-up. Rates cross-checked against https://www.sumup.com/en-gb/pricing/.
Provider's published pricing →Read 5 September 2026.
SumUpSumUp Solo Lite · Pay-as-you-go £25£25 excluding VAT £0 1.69% 2.5% Next day by 7am, even on weekends and p… sumup.comread 5 September 2026
- Amex rate
- 1.69%
- International cards
- 1.69%
- Connectivity
- Bluetooth via phone ('Phone-paired' - connect Solo Lite to your phone)
- Account needed
- SumUp account - money is paid into the 'free, included SumUp Business Account'
- Plan (as published)
- Pay-as-you-go (optional Payments Plus: £19 per month or £189 per year)
- Device price (as published)
- £25 excluding VAT (£30 incl. VAT), as published on the product page
- Settlement (as published)
- Next day by 7am, 'even on weekends and public holidays', into the included SumUp Business Account
- Published rate tiers
- Pay-as-you-go: '0.00% for in-person payments made with a SumUp card'; '1.69% for all other in-person payments (including American Express and premium cards)'; '2.5% for online payments'. Optional Payments Plus (£19 per month or £189 per year): '0.99% for in-person payments made with domestic debit and credit cards'; '1.69% for in-person payments made with premium, international, and American Express cards'; '2.5% for online payments'.
- Eligibility
- Not stated on the pages read
- Notes
- Transaction rates from https://www.sumup.com/en-gb/pricing/. 'All other in-person payments' at 1.69% is the only pay-as-you-go in-person rate published, so it is recorded for Amex and international cards too. Payments Plus is shown as 'From £15.75/month' on the product page (the annual price spread monthly) and as '£19 per month or £189 per year' on the pricing page.
Provider's published pricing →Read 5 September 2026.
SumUpSumUp Solo · Pay-as-you-go £79£79 excluding VAT £0 1.69% 2.5% Next day by 7am, even on weekends and b… sumup.comread 5 September 2026
- Amex rate
- 1.69%
- International cards
- 1.69%
- Connectivity
- Wi-Fi plus 'built-in 4G SIM with unlimited free data'; standalone - 'no phone or tablet is needed'
- Account needed
- SumUp account - money is paid into the 'free, included SumUp Business Account'
- Plan (as published)
- Pay-as-you-go (optional Payments Plus: £19 per month or £189 per year)
- Device price (as published)
- £79 excluding VAT (£94.80 incl. VAT), as published on the product page
- Settlement (as published)
- Next day by 7am, 'even on weekends and bank holidays', into the SumUp Business Account
- Published rate tiers
- Pay-as-you-go: 0.00% SumUp card in person; 1.69% all other in-person payments including American Express and premium cards; 2.5% online. Payments Plus (£19/month or £189/year): 0.99% domestic debit and credit cards in person; 1.69% premium, international and American Express cards; 2.5% online.
- Eligibility
- Not stated on the pages read
- Notes
- Transaction rates from https://www.sumup.com/en-gb/pricing/. Purchase includes 'one free month of our fee-cutting Payments Plus plan'. '30-day money-back guarantee from date of delivery'. SumUp Air and a 'Solo & Printer' bundle were NOT listed on https://www.sumup.com/en-gb/card-readers/ on the check date (the line-up is Tap to Pay, Solo Lite, Solo, Terminal); a 'Solo mobile printer' accessory is sold separately at £59 excluding VAT (https://www.sumup.com/en-gb/solo-printer/).
Provider's published pricing →Read 5 September 2026.
SumUpSumUp Terminal · Pay-as-you-go £135£135 excluding VAT £0 1.69% 2.5% next-day access to your earnings, 365 d… sumup.comread 5 September 2026
- Amex rate
- 1.69%
- International cards
- 1.69%
- Connectivity
- 'dual WiFi and a free SIM card' (mobile data) - 'automatically connects to the strongest network'; built-in receipt printer (standard 58 mm thermal rolls); standalone
- Account needed
- SumUp account - money is paid into the SumUp Business Account
- Plan (as published)
- Pay-as-you-go (optional Payments Plus: £19 per month or £189 per year)
- Device price (as published)
- £135 excluding VAT (£162 incl. VAT), as published on the product page
- Settlement (as published)
- 'next-day access to your earnings, 365 days a year. Always by 7 am' via the SumUp Business Account
- Published rate tiers
- Pay-as-you-go: 0.00% SumUp card in person; 1.69% all other in-person payments including American Express and premium cards; 2.5% online. Payments Plus (£19/month or £189/year): 0.99% domestic debit and credit cards in person; 1.69% premium, international and American Express cards; 2.5% online.
- Eligibility
- Not stated on the pages read
- Notes
- Transaction rates from https://www.sumup.com/en-gb/pricing/. Page states 'no rental fees or monthly minimums' and 'free from binding contracts'. Purchase includes one free month of Payments Plus; 30-day money-back guarantee.
Provider's published pricing →Read 5 September 2026.
PayPal Point of Sale (formerly Zettle by PayPal)Tap to Pay (no reader) · Pay per transaction £0No hardware £0 1.75% 2.5% Funds typically arrive in your PayPal B… zettle.comread 5 September 2026
- Amex rate
- 1.75%
- International cards
- Not published
- Connectivity
- Phone only (PayPal POS app from the Apple App Store or Google Play)
- Account needed
- PayPal Business account
- Plan (as published)
- Pay per transaction - 'No contracts or recurring fees'
- Device price (as published)
- No hardware - 'All you need is the PayPal POS app ... no additional hardware required!'
- Settlement (as published)
- Funds 'typically arrive in your PayPal Business account within minutes'
- Published rate tiers
- Card transactions 1.75% including American Express and mobile wallets. No separate international-card rate published.
- Eligibility
- Compatible phone with the PayPal POS app
- Notes
- Included as the provider's published no-hardware alternative on the same pricing page.
Provider's published pricing →Read 5 September 2026.
ElavonElavon Mobile · Start simple £5£5 one off card reader cost £012-month contract 1.75% — Next day funding elavon.co.ukread 5 September 2026
- Amex rate
- Not published
- International cards
- Not published
- Connectivity
- Pocket-sized card reader used with the free Elavon Mobile POS app on your phone or tablet ('WiFi or mobile network connection'); pricing page lists 'Bluetooth connectivity'
- Account needed
- Not stated on the pages read
- Plan (as published)
- 'Start simple' (New to card) - '£0 monthly fee'
- Device price (as published)
- '£5 one off card reader cost' ('£5 one-off device cost'); VAT status not stated
- Settlement (as published)
- 'Next day funding' (pricing page)
- Published rate tiers
- Pricing page: 'Transaction fees on Visa and Mastercard - Personal debit and credit cards: 1.75%'. Product page: 'From 1.75%'. Other card types (business, Amex, international) not published. Pay by link via Elavon Payment Gateway: 'Gateway fee 16p/transaction'. 'Best for turnover of £0-40k'.
- Eligibility
- Pricing page: 'All our plans come with ... 12 month contract'; the product page says 'No monthly fees or long-term commitment' - conflicting wording recorded as published. Apply online 'with a decision in about 15 minutes'. Annual turnover over £200k: 'speak to us about a more bespoke solution'.
- Notes
- Product page: https://www.elavon.co.uk/accept-payments/point-of-sale/elavon-mobile.html. The 1.75% is published as a flat rate for Visa/Mastercard personal debit and credit cards only, so it is recorded numerically with that scope. contract_months follows the pricing page's '12 month contract'.
Provider's published pricing →Read 5 September 2026.
SquareSquare Reader · Free £19£19 + VAT list price £0 1.75% 1.4% + 25p Transfers to your bank in one to two wo… squareup.comread 5 September 2026
- Amex rate
- Not published
- International cards
- 3.25%
- Connectivity
- Bluetooth (BLE 5.3) via phone or tablet running the Square app; the device needs an internet connection
- Account needed
- Square account; transfers to your bank account
- Plan (as published)
- Free ('£0/mo' + processing fees); Plus '£29+/mo'; Premium 'Custom'
- Device price (as published)
- '£19 + VAT' list price; shown discounted to '£13.30 + VAT' on the check date
- Settlement (as published)
- Transfers to your bank in 'one to two working days for free or instantly for a fee' (Instant Transfers 1.5%; £50 minimum, £2,500 per day maximum). Reader page: 'as soon as the next day'.
- Published rate tiers
- In person: '1.75% for transactions with UK cards'; '1.75% + 1.5% for transactions with non-UK cards'. Online: '1.4% + 25p for transactions with UK cards'; '2.5% + 25p for transactions with non-UK cards'. Manually entered: 2.5% (+1.5% non-UK cards). Invoices: 2.5% (+1.5% non-UK cards). Plus plan £29+/mo; Premium custom (contact sales).
- Eligibility
- Not stated on the pages read
- Notes
- Hardware detail from https://squareup.com/gb/en/hardware/reader. No separate American Express rate is published; the FAQ says Square works with 'Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Maestro, Visa Electron or V Pay' cards. international_card_rate_pct is the published '1.75% + 1.5%' expressed as one figure. contract_months 0 rests on the Free plan and the Terminal page's 'no hardware subscription fees or monthly costs' - no explicit 'no contract' sentence was found.
Provider's published pricing →Read 5 September 2026.
PayPal Point of Sale (formerly Zettle by PayPal)PayPal Reader (formerly Zettle Reader 2) · Pay per transaction £29From £29 excluding VAT £0 1.75% 2.5% Your funds typically arrive in your Pay… zettle.comread 5 September 2026
- Amex rate
- 1.75%
- International cards
- Not published
- Connectivity
- Bluetooth via phone or tablet running the PayPal POS app (iOS 14+ / Android 8.1+); optional countertop Dock at additional cost
- Account needed
- PayPal Business account
- Plan (as published)
- Pay per transaction - 'No contracts or recurring fees'
- Device price (as published)
- 'From £29' excluding VAT - introductory price for 'one (1) PayPal Reader per new eligible business user'; full price and additional readers £69 excluding VAT; delivery fees apply
- Settlement (as published)
- 'Your funds typically arrive in your PayPal Business account within minutes'; automatic transfers to your bank 'with no added fee'
- Published rate tiers
- Card transactions 1.75% - 'Same rate per transaction for major cards and mobile wallets, even American Express'. PayPal QR Codes 1.75% (sellers who signed up before 8 May 2023 only). Zettle Invoice 2.5%. Payment Links 2.5% ('Temporarily unavailable for new sellers due to ongoing product enhancements'). Custom rates 'subject to a specific agreement between the parties'. No separate international-card rate published.
- Eligibility
- £29 introductory reader price limited to new eligible business users; one per user
- Notes
- Pricing page banner: 'Zettle by PayPal becomes PayPal Point of Sale'. Hardware detail from https://www.paypal.com/uk/business/pos-system/card-reader (zettle.com/gb/payments/terminal now 301-redirects there). online_rate_pct is the published Payment Links / Zettle Invoice rate.
Provider's published pricing →Read 5 September 2026.
PayPal Point of Sale (formerly Zettle by PayPal)PayPal Terminal (formerly Zettle Terminal) · Pay per transaction £149From £149 excluding VAT for t… £0 1.75% 2.5% Funds typically arrive in your PayPal B… zettle.comread 5 September 2026
- Amex rate
- 1.75%
- International cards
- Not published
- Connectivity
- 'Connects directly to wifi or 4G' - 'Includes an activated SIM card', 'Mobile data usage is covered in your purchase price'; PayPal POS app built in; standalone
- Account needed
- PayPal Business account
- Plan (as published)
- Pay per transaction - 'No contracts or recurring fees'
- Device price (as published)
- 'From £149' excluding VAT for the Terminal without barcode scanner; with built-in barcode scanner £199; with barcode scanner plus Printer & Dock £249 (all excluding VAT; 'Terminal Printer & Dock and Terminal with barcode scanner are sold separately'; delivery fees apply)
- Settlement (as published)
- Funds 'typically arrive in your PayPal Business account within minutes'
- Published rate tiers
- Card transactions 1.75% including American Express and mobile wallets. Zettle Invoice 2.5%; Payment Links 2.5% (temporarily unavailable for new sellers). No separate international-card rate published.
- Eligibility
- Not stated beyond needing a PayPal business account
- Notes
- Hardware variants and connectivity from https://www.paypal.com/uk/business/pos-system/card-reader. 'Customised Store Kits' from £169 excluding VAT also listed.
Provider's published pricing →Read 5 September 2026.
SquareSquare Terminal · Free £149£149 + VAT or £25 + VAT/mo fo… £0 1.75% 1.4% + 25p Transfers in one to two working days fo… squareup.comread 5 September 2026
- Amex rate
- Not published
- International cards
- 3.25%
- Connectivity
- Wi-Fi or Ethernet; built-in receipt printer; offline payments 'for up to 24 hours'; standalone
- Account needed
- Square account; transfers to your bank account
- Plan (as published)
- Free ('£0/mo' + processing fees); Plus '£29+/mo'; Premium 'Custom'
- Device price (as published)
- '£149 + VAT or £25 + VAT/mo for 6 months'; shown discounted to '£99.83 + VAT or £16.75 + VAT/mo' on the check date
- Settlement (as published)
- Transfers in 'one to two working days for free or instantly for a fee' (Instant Transfers 1.5%)
- Published rate tiers
- In person 1.75% UK cards; '1.75% + 1.5%' non-UK cards. Online 1.4% + 25p UK cards; 2.5% + 25p non-UK cards. Manually entered and Invoices 2.5% (+1.5% non-UK).
- Eligibility
- Not stated on the pages read
- Notes
- Hardware detail from https://squareup.com/gb/en/hardware/terminal: 'There are no hardware subscription fees or monthly costs'. Square Stand (£99 + VAT) and Square Register (£699 + VAT) are also listed but are POS hardware rather than card readers.
Provider's published pricing →Read 5 September 2026.
BarclaycardSmartpay Anywhere · Smartpay Anywhere £29£29 + VAT one-off fee — —see tiers — as soon as the next working day barclaycard.co.ukread 5 September 2026
- Amex rate
- Not published
- International cards
- Not published
- Connectivity
- 'Wi-Fi and mobile data networks' (as published); works with the Barclaycard app on your phone or tablet
- Account needed
- Not stated on the pages read
- Plan (as published)
- Smartpay Anywhere - 'Customised pricing'
- Device price (as published)
- '£29 + VAT one-off fee'
- Settlement (as published)
- 'as soon as the next working day' - 'Settlement terms may vary. To receive next-day settlement, transactions need to be taken before 7pm.'
- Published rate tiers
- 'Customised pricing' tailored to annual turnover - no rate card published. Representative example on the product page: 'When a Visa or Mastercard personal debit card is used in person to buy a £50 item, you could pay: Example transaction charge (0.7%) - £0.35 + Authorisation fee (3p)'. 'Additional fees' may include 'a minimal monthly service charge' (amount not published).
- Eligibility
- 'No contract'; cancellation cost '£0'; 'The approval of your application depends on your financial circumstances and borrowing history'
- Notes
- Product page: https://www.barclaycard.co.uk/business/accepting-payments/card-readers/pocket-sized-card-reader. monthly_fee_gbp is null because the page says a 'minimal monthly service charge' may apply without stating it. Transaction rates are examples only, so numeric rate fields are null.
Provider's published pricing →Read 5 September 2026.
BarclaycardSmartpay Touch · Smartpay Touch —No upfront price published £2912-month contract —see tiers — could be in your account as soon as the… barclaycard.co.ukread 5 September 2026
- Amex rate
- Not published
- International cards
- Not published
- Connectivity
- 'Smart SIM - which connects to the Wi-Fi or strongest mobile data network'; 'intuitive switching between Wi-Fi and 4G'; all-in-one POS with touchscreen; standalone
- Account needed
- Not stated on the pages read
- Plan (as published)
- Smartpay Touch - 'A customised pricing plan designed for your business'
- Device price (as published)
- No upfront price published - supplied on a '£29 + VAT monthly service fee'
- Settlement (as published)
- 'could be in your account as soon as the next working day' - 'To receive next day settlement, transactions need to be taken before 7pm'
- Published rate tiers
- 'Customised pricing' - no rate card published. Representative examples on the product page: in-person debit card 'Example transaction charge (0.7%) - £0.35 + Authorisation fee (3p) - £0.03'; phone credit card 'Example transaction charge (2.05%) - £1.03 + Authorisation fee (3p) - £0.03'.
- Eligibility
- '12 months' contract; cancellation cost '£0'; 'The approval of your application depends on your financial circumstances and borrowing history'
- Notes
- Product page: https://www.barclaycard.co.uk/business/accepting-payments/card-readers/point-of-sale-system. Monthly fee is '+ VAT'.
Provider's published pricing →Read 5 September 2026.
Lloyds Bank CardnetCastles Saturn · Everyday card reader —Rental only £23 —see tiers — Next-day settlement available lloydsbank.comread 5 September 2026
- Amex rate
- Not published
- International cards
- Not published
- Connectivity
- 'Connects through Wi-Fi or 4G for when Wi-Fi won't reach. Comes with a free SIM card' (free built-in roaming SIM); built-in receipt printer; standalone
- Account needed
- Not stated on the pages read
- Plan (as published)
- 'Everyday card reader' - '£23 monthly rental + VAT', 'Tailored transaction fees'
- Device price (as published)
- Rental only - 'Cost £23 monthly rental +VAT + transaction fees'
- Settlement (as published)
- 'Next-day settlement available'
- Published rate tiers
- 'Tailored transaction fees' - no rate card published. Pricing examples on the our-prices page ('just to give you an idea'): in-store £100 Visa debit sale - 'Service charge - Visa debit: 0.5% £0.50' + 'Authorisation £0.03' = £0.53; online £100 Mastercard credit sale - 0.5% + £0.03 authorisation + 'Card-not-present: 0.25%' + 'Payment gateway £0.13' = £0.91. 'Your minimum monthly charge is £10.' 'Accepting American Express payments' is listed under fees for extras (amount not published).
- Eligibility
- Contract length not stated ('Monthly rolling warranty for the duration of your contract'); 'We also add on VAT' to monthly fees; 'You could pay a one-off fee instead for some devices' (amount not published)
- Notes
- lloydsbankcardnet.com now redirects to https://www.lloydsbank.com/business/take-payments-with-cardnet.html. Pricing examples from https://www.lloydsbank.com/business/take-payments-with-cardnet/our-prices.html. The device pages returned a Lloyds error page to the primary fetch tool and were read from the engine box.
Provider's published pricing →Read 5 September 2026.
Lloyds Bank CardnetClover Flex · Business management solution —Rental only £21 —see tiers — Payments are typically received by 6pm… lloydsbank.comread 5 September 2026
- Amex rate
- Not published
- International cards
- Not published
- Connectivity
- 'Connects through Wi-Fi, a hotspot on a personal device or 4G. A 4G SIM is £10 a month + VAT'; embedded printer; in-built barcode scanner; 8-hour battery; standalone
- Account needed
- Not stated on the pages read
- Plan (as published)
- 'Business management solution' - '£21 monthly rental + VAT (optional £10 SIM)', 'Tailored transaction fees'
- Device price (as published)
- Rental only - 'Cost £21 monthly rental + VAT + transaction fees'; optional 4G SIM '£10 a month + VAT'
- Settlement (as published)
- 'Payments are typically received by 6pm on the next business day'
- Published rate tiers
- 'Tailored transaction fees' - no rate card published. Our-prices examples: in-store Visa debit 0.5% + £0.03 authorisation; online Mastercard credit 0.5% + £0.03 + 0.25% card-not-present + £0.13 gateway. Minimum monthly charge £10. Software: 'Payments Plus' included; 'Register' package £6.99 + VAT (+£6.99 + VAT per additional device); hospitality package £39.95 + VAT (+£6.99 + VAT per additional device).
- Eligibility
- Contract length not stated; monthly fees are '+ VAT'
- Notes
- Pricing examples from https://www.lloydsbank.com/business/take-payments-with-cardnet/our-prices.html. Read from the engine box (primary fetch tool received a Lloyds error page).
Provider's published pricing →Read 5 September 2026.
Lloyds Bank CardnetClover Mini · Clover Mini —Rental only £23 —see tiers — Payments are typically received by 6pm… lloydsbank.comread 5 September 2026
- Amex rate
- Not published
- International cards
- Not published
- Connectivity
- 'connects through secure Wi-Fi or 4G (micro Sim)'; high-speed printer; in-built card reader and barcode scanner; 8-hour battery; countertop
- Account needed
- Not stated on the pages read
- Plan (as published)
- Clover Mini - 'Tailored transaction fees'
- Device price (as published)
- Rental only - '£23 monthly rental + VAT + transaction fees'
- Settlement (as published)
- 'Payments are typically received by 6pm on the next business day'
- Published rate tiers
- 'Tailored transaction fees' - no rate card published. Our-prices examples: in-store Visa debit 0.5% + £0.03 authorisation; online adds 0.25% card-not-present + £0.13 gateway. Minimum monthly charge £10. Software: 'Payments Plus' included; Register package £6.99 ex VAT (+£6.99 ex VAT per additional device); hospitality package £39.95 + VAT.
- Eligibility
- Contract length not stated; monthly fees are '+ VAT'
- Notes
- Pricing examples from https://www.lloydsbank.com/business/take-payments-with-cardnet/our-prices.html.
Provider's published pricing →Read 5 September 2026.
TeyaTeya Pro —Rental — —see tiers — Next day as standard teya.comread 5 September 2026
- Amex rate
- Not published
- International cards
- Not published
- Connectivity
- 'Dual Wi-Fi + 4G fallback'; standalone; 'Tap on display' contactless sensor
- Account needed
- Teya Business Account (an e-money account - 'not protected by the FSCS') or an external bank account at +0.10%
- Device price (as published)
- Rental - 'Machines from £14.99/month'; VAT status not stated; no purchase price published
- Settlement (as published)
- Next day as standard - 'Next day. Every day. Weekends and bank holidays included.'; 'Instant Settlements' in seconds available only via the Teya Business Account
- Published rate tiers
- Card-machines page: 'Machines from £14.99/month, with transaction fees from 1.59%.' Pricing page: 'Rates built around your business. We look at your volume, sector and average transaction, then quote a rate that fits. No standard price list.' A '10 basis points (0.10%)' fee applies if settling to an external bank account instead of the Teya Business Account.
- Eligibility
- Quote-based: 'Get in touch with our sales team and share a recent statement'. 'No long-term contract. Switch to Teya in minutes.'
- Notes
- teya.com/gb and teya.com/gb/pricing return 404 - the UK site lives at the root; pricing page https://www.teya.com/pricing. Rental and rate are 'from' figures so numeric fields are null per house rule. 'Teya Lite' (compact 4-inch Android device) is listed with no price. Accepts 'Visa, Mastercard, Amex, Apple Pay, Google Pay and more' - no rates by card type.
Provider's published pricing →Read 5 September 2026.
How this table is built
Every figure is read from the provider's own pricing page and recorded with the URL and date. Where a provider publishes only "from x%" or a quote-on-request price, the numeric column shows "—" and the published wording sits in the detail panel; we do not turn a range into a number.
What it can't tell you
Whether your business type is accepted, the settlement time you will actually get, or reliability. Several providers pair the reader with their own e-money account; where they do, the detail panel says so, because that is where your takings sit before they reach your bank.
How we make money
No provider on this page pays us; every link goes to the provider's own published pricing. Full disclosure →
Not yet included
- Revolut Business (Revolut Reader) - revolut.com/business/revolut-reader/ returned HTTP 403 ('Just a quick security check') to both the fetch tool and a browser-header request from the engine box; a headless-Chromium render of the same URL returned Revolut's own 'We can't find that one' page. Revolut Business pricing URLs were already 403 for accounts.json. No readable published tariff, so no figures recorded.
- Viva.com - viva.com/en-gb/pricing is JavaScript-rendered: the fetch tool timed out three times, a browser-header request returned only the page title, and a headless-Chromium render failed (HTTP/2 protocol error, then a 90-second timeout). viva.com/en-gb/transaction-fees carries only the '0% Transaction Fees' cashback marketing with no rates or device prices. Nothing readable to record.
- Takepayments - Quote-only. takepayments.com/card-machines/ states 'How much you'll pay for a card machine will depend on the model you choose, the type of card payments you want to take and your turnover' and directs to a quote form and a consultant visit. It publishes a '12 month contract' and 'Next day settlement' but no device price or transaction rate.
- Worldpay - No fixed published tariff. worldpay.com/en-gb/pricing 301-redirects to go.worldpay.com/pricing, a quote calculator marked '*Pricing shown above is indicative only'; before inputs it displays 0.0% rates with a 4.5p authorisation fee, £20.00 point-of-sale terminal per month, £5.00 PCI DSS fee, £15.00 minimum monthly service charge, £20.00 chargeback fee and '24 hours' settlement. worldpay.com/en-gb/products/card-machines says 'pricing is tailored to your business depending on your payment needs'. Recorded here for context only.
- Adyen - Not an SME tariff. adyen.com/pricing publishes interchange++ pricing in US dollars ('$0.13 + Interchange+ + 0.60%' for Visa/Mastercard, '$0.13 + 3.95%' American Express), states 'The fees outlined above are indicative; please get in touch to discuss pricing options', mentions a minimum invoice 'depending on industry or business model', and publishes no terminal hardware prices.
Bank Solutions publishes information built from providers' published terms. It is not financial advice. Pricing changes; the provider's current page is definitive. Corrections: editor@banksolutions.uk.