Bank Solutions

Business bank accounts with branch access

Plans whose provider publishes that account holders can use a branch counter, compared on the same published fees as the full table.

13 plans from 8 providers · Last checked 5 September 2026 · Compiled by Sam Allcock · How we compare

13 plans
Cash deposits Protection Integrations Source
HSBC logoHSBCSmall Business Banking Account £0no monthly fee Free Branch: 'Branch credit' £1.50 per credit plus 'Cash in' 1… ✓ FSCS business.hsbc.ukchecked 5 September 2026
Who can open it
Not stated
Monthly fee
£0 (no monthly fee)
Electronic payments
Free
Cash deposits
Branch: 'Branch credit' £1.50 per credit plus 'Cash in' 1.50% of the value deposited. Post Office: 'Post Office counter cash credit' £1.50 per credit plus 'Post Office cash in' 1.50% of the value deposited. Bulk cash at HSBC Cash Centre: 30p per credit plus 0.35% of value.
Cheques
Mobile cheque deposit (HSBC UK Business Banking app): 50p per cheque. Branch: £1.50 branch credit plus 50p per cheque collected. Post Office: £1.50 per cheque credit plus 50p per cheque. Stopped cheque £10.00; returned cheque £4.00.
International payments
International payment by Business Internet Banking £17.00; by Business Telephone Banking or in branch £20.00 (to another HSBC Group bank) / £30.00 (to another bank or in a foreign currency within the UK); by post £40.00. Payment sent by SEPA Credit Transfer 24p. Payments received by SEPA 20p. Global Wallet: receive/pay like a local £5.00 per transaction, pay SWIFT £17.00 per transaction.
Multi-currency
Branch access
Yes
Overdraft
Yes
Cards
Not published
Protection
HSBC UK Bank plc; business.hsbc.uk links to its FSCS information sheet (https://www.business.hsbc.uk/-/media/media/uk/pdfs/generic/rfb1085-financial-services-compensation-scheme-information-sheet.pdf). Limit not stated in the price list.
Notes
Business Price List dated 15 December 2025. 'Who's eligible? Small Business Banking customers. These are typically small enterprises with borrowing needs of up to £100k and whose everyday banking needs don't need the support of a Relationship Manager.' Monthly fee: Free. 'From 1 July 2025, we stopped offering a free banking period on primary Small Business Banking Accounts.' Electronic payments: 'Automated credits: Free', 'Direct Debit or standing order: Free', 'Internal transfer: Free' (a separate Faster Payment debit line was not located in the pages read; the 0 reflects the stated free items). Cash machine withdrawal 25p per withdrawal plus 0.60% of the value. Business-type eligibility (sole trader/limited company) not published in the price list and HSBC product pages were not retrievable. Price list lists Global Wallet and Foreign Currency Account charges but does not say which accounts they attach to.

Go to HSBC → Published tariff we read Read on 5 September 2026. Spotted a change? Tell us.

NatWest logoNatWestBusiness Current Account £0no monthly fee · 24-month free-banking period 35p Cash payments ✓ FSCS FreeAgent natwest.comchecked 5 September 2026
Who can open it
Not stated
Monthly fee
£0 (no monthly fee · 24-month free-banking period)
Electronic payments
35p
Cash deposits
Cash payments (in or out) at branch counter, Post Office counter, Cash & Deposit Machine or Business Quick Deposit: £0.95 per £100, plus £0.95 manual payment charge per item. · free allowance: Switchers: '2 years of free banking from the date the switch is completed' (annual turnover up to £2 million, full Current Account Switch Service). For accounts opened on or after 20 April 2026 free banking is lost if cash deposits exceed £200,000 in any 12-month period.
Cheques
Cheques paid in via Mobile App: £0.75 per item. Branch/Post Office: £0.95 per cheque plus £0.95 manual transaction charge. Cheques paid out: £0.95 per item.
International payments
Not in the charges leaflet: 'For full details on fees and charges for our CHAPS and international services please refer to our website or talk to your Relationship Manager.' Debit card abroad: Non-Sterling Transaction Fee 2.75%.
Multi-currency
Branch access
Yes
Overdraft
Yes
Cards
Not published
Protection
National Westminster Bank Plc. Product page: 'FSCS deposit protection (eligibility criteria apply)'; FSCS information sheet linked at https://www.natwest.com/content/dam/natwest/business/site-wide/documents/FSCS-Information-Sheet-NW-Business-Banking.pdf
Notes
Same Standard Charges leaflet as the Start-up account (no monthly charge; £0.35 automated payments). Product page (https://www.natwest.com/business/bank-accounts/business-bank-account.html): 'For businesses who've been trading for over a year or less than a year with turnover more than £1m'; '2 years' free banking on everyday transactions when your switch is completed'; 'Businesses over £500k turnover get expert support from our Relationship Managers'; 'Not currently available for Mettle accounts'. Bankline (for complex needs) has a separate monthly fee.

Go to NatWest → Published tariff we read Read on 5 September 2026. Spotted a change? Tell us.

NatWest logoNatWestStart-up Business Account £0no monthly fee · 24-month free-banking period 35p Cash payments ✓ FSCS FreeAgent natwest.comchecked 5 September 2026
Who can open it
Not stated
Monthly fee
£0 (no monthly fee · 24-month free-banking period)
Electronic payments
35p
Cash deposits
Cash payments (in or out) at a NatWest/RBS branch counter, Post Office counter, Cash & Deposit Machine or Business Quick Deposit: £0.95 per £100, plus a manual payment charge of £0.95 per item. Cash Centre notes in £0.30 per £100, coin £0.60 per £100. · free allowance: During the 2-year free banking period standard day-to-day charges do not apply. For accounts opened on or after 20 April 2026: 'if your cash deposits into your account exceed £200,000 in any 12-month period, you'll no longer qualify for free banking'.
Cheques
Cheques paid in via Mobile App: £0.75 per item. Cheques paid in at branch/Post Office: £0.95 per cheque plus £0.95 manual transaction charge (e.g. three cheques = £3.80). Cheques paid out: charged as manual payments £0.95 per item.
International payments
Not in the charges leaflet: 'For full details on fees and charges for our CHAPS and international services please refer to our website or talk to your Relationship Manager.' Debit card abroad: Non-Sterling Transaction Fee 2.75%.
Multi-currency
Branch access
Yes
Overdraft
Yes
Cards
Not published
Protection
National Westminster Bank Plc. Product page: 'FSCS deposit protection (eligibility criteria apply)'; FSCS information sheet linked at https://www.natwest.com/content/dam/natwest/business/site-wide/documents/FSCS-Information-Sheet-NW-Business-Banking.pdf
Notes
Charges leaflet 'Correct as at 20th April 2026': 'Our Business Current Account and Foundation Account have no monthly charge on our Standard Charges'; 'Automated payments (in or out) £0.35 per item' (Direct Debits, standing orders, automated credits, Internet Faster Payments, ATM withdrawals); other non-automated payments £1.00 per item. Free banking: 'New business (Start-ups) - You've started a business within the last 12 months with a projected or existing annual turnover that doesn't exceed £1 million ... 2 years of free banking from the date the account is opened'. Product page (https://www.natwest.com/business/bank-accounts/startup-bank-account.html): 'available for businesses that have been trading for less than 1 year and have a turnover of less than £1m'; 'FreeAgent is free for as long as you retain your bank account'. Business-type eligibility list not published on the page read. Unarranged overdraft: paid referral fee £20, unpaid item fee £12, interest 15% per annum.

Go to NatWest → Published tariff we read Read on 5 September 2026. Spotted a change? Tell us.

The Co-operative Bank logoThe Co-operative BankBusiness Bank Account £0no monthly fee Free Cash paid in or out: £1.50 per £100. ✓ FSCS co-operativebank.co.ukchecked 5 September 2026
Who can open it
sole trader, partnership, llp, limited company
Monthly fee
£0 (no monthly fee)
Electronic payments
Free
Cash deposits
Cash paid in or out: £1.50 per £100. Cash exchanged £1.60 per £100.
Cheques
Cheques paid in/issued: £1.50 each. Stopped cheque £5.
International payments
SEPA payments in euro to EU/EEA states plus Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Monaco and Switzerland: Free. Structured USD payments: £8 via telephone banking or in writing, £5 via online banking. SWIFT service: 0.25% of the value of the transaction min. £13, max. £35 via telephone banking or in writing; £10 via online banking (plus postage, transmission and agent's charges where applicable). Receiving payments from overseas equivalent to £100 or less: Free. Debit card foreign currency conversion charge 2.75%.
Multi-currency
Branch access
Yes
Overdraft
Yes
Cards
Debit card (debit card purchases free).
Protection
FSCS Information Sheet linked (https://www.co-operativebank.co.uk/assets/pdf/bank/global/fscs.pdf). Page notes a proposed transfer to Coventry Building Society: 'you will have a single FSCS protection limit of £120,000 which will apply to your eligible deposits with the Bank, smile and the Society'.
Notes
Tariff effective from 31 March 2025: 'Monthly service charge: Free'; Automated Debits & Credits, Debit Card Purchases, ATM Withdrawals, Manual Credits: Free. Product page (https://www.co-operativebank.co.uk/business/products/bank-accounts/startup-small-business-account/) 'Ideal for startups and small businesses that bank digitally'; eligibility: 18+, UK resident with UK business address, no CCJs/bankruptcy/IVAs in six years, and 'Sole trader, Partnership, Limited liability partnership, Limited company'. Page mentions 'accountancy software integration' without naming packages. £200 opening offer (to 11 September 2026) with conditions.

Go to The Co-operative Bank → Published tariff we read Read on 5 September 2026. Spotted a change? Tell us.

The Co-operative Bank logoThe Co-operative BankFederation of Small Businesses (FSB) account £0no monthly fee Free Cash paid in: up to £1,000 per charging period free; ✓ FSCS co-operativebank.co.ukchecked 5 September 2026
Who can open it
sole trader, partnership, llp, limited company
Monthly fee
£0 (no monthly fee)
Electronic payments
Free
Cash deposits
Cash paid in: up to £1,000 per charging period free; exceeding £1,000 per charging period 80p per £100. Cash withdrawals free; cash exchanged free. · free allowance: £1,000 cash per charging period free.
Cheques
Cheques paid in: Free. Cheques issued: Free.
International payments
Not published
Multi-currency
Branch access
Yes
Overdraft
Yes
Cards
Debit card (debit card purchases free).
Protection
FSCS Information Sheet and Exclusions List linked on the product page; single £120,000 limit shared with Coventry Building Society if the proposed transfer completes.
Notes
Tariff effective 31 March 2025: Monthly service charge Free; automated credits/debits, manual credits, debit card purchases, ATM withdrawals free. 'Only for members of the Federation of Small Businesses'; 'No arrangement fees on overdrafts'. Product page (https://www.co-operativebank.co.uk/business/products/bank-accounts/federation-of-small-businesses/) eligibility: 'You or your organisation must be a member of the Federation of Small Businesses, and one of the following: Sole trader, Partnership, Limited liability partnership, Limited company'.

Go to The Co-operative Bank → Published tariff we read Read on 5 September 2026. Spotted a change? Tell us.

Virgin Money logoVirgin MoneyM Account for Business £0no monthly fee Free Cash Paid In ✓ FSCS Xero, Sage, QuickBooks uk.virginmoney.comchecked 5 September 2026
Who can open it
sole trader, limited company, llp
Monthly fee
£0 (no monthly fee)
Electronic payments
Free
Cash deposits
Cash Paid In (at branch or Post Office): £0.90 per £100, plus Manual Credit £0.95 per credit for transactions in branch/Post Office. Cash Paid Out £0.90 per £100; Cash Exchanged (over £100) £1.80 per £100.
Cheques
Cheque Remitted (paid in): £0.00 via App; £0.55 via Branch.
International payments
SWIFT £17.50 via Business Internet Banking or £25.00 via Branch and telephone banking; SEPA no charge. Inward: SEPA no charge; SWIFT over £100 (or equivalent) £7.00 except euro/SEK/RON from within the EEA (no charge). CHAPS £17.50 online / £25.00 branch or telephone.
Multi-currency
Branch access
Yes
Overdraft
Yes
Cards
Business debit card with 0.25% unlimited cashback on debit card spending. Non-sterling card payments outside GBP/EUR/SEK/RON: 2.75% (min £1.50); cash withdrawals 3.75% (min £1.50).
Protection
Product page: 'FSCS protection: Up to £120,000 on eligible deposits'. Tariff: 'Nationwide Building Society (trading as Virgin Money)' - Business Current Account page notes protection is on 'combined eligible deposits with Virgin Money and Nationwide up to £120,000'.
Notes
Tariff Guide 'correct as at 19 December 2025': Monthly Fee No charge; Auto Debit and Auto Credit No charge. Post Office cash deposit limits £10,000 daily, £250,000 in any 12 months. Unplanned borrowing 18.90% (20.63% EAR). Product page (https://uk.virginmoney.com/business/current-accounts/m-account-for-business/): 'for businesses with an annual turnover under £1m'; business types offered: Limited company, Sole trader, Limited liability partnership; 'You can't open an M Account for Business if you're a club, charity or society'; 'Sync your accounting tools like Xero, Sage, Shopify and Quickbooks'; Xero free for 6 months offer.

Go to Virgin Money → Published tariff we read Read on 5 September 2026. Spotted a change? Tell us.

Virgin Money logoVirgin MoneyBusiness Current Account £6.50after 25 months free 30p Cash Paid In ✓ FSCS Xero, Sage, QuickBooks uk.virginmoney.comchecked 5 September 2026
Who can open it
sole trader, limited company, llp
Monthly fee
£6.50 (after 25 months free)
Electronic payments
30p
Cash deposits
Cash Paid In (at branch or Post Office): £0.65 per £100, plus Manual Credit £0.70 per credit in branch/Post Office. Cash Paid Out £0.65 per £100; Cash Exchanged (over £100) £1.30 per £100. · free allowance: 25 months' free day-to-day banking offer: 'A cash limit (paid in, paid out or exchanged) of £250,000 per year applies.' Post Office deposit limits £10,000 daily, £250,000 in any 12 months.
Cheques
Cheque Remitted (paid in): £0.30 per cheque. Stopped cheque £10.00.
International payments
Inward: SEPA no charge; SWIFT over £100 (or equivalent) £7.00 except euro/SEK/RON from within the EEA (no charge). Outward international payments are in a separate International tariff (https://uk.virginmoney.com/business/business-banking-tariff/). CHAPS £25.00.
Multi-currency
Branch access
Yes
Overdraft
Yes
Cards
Business Debit Mastercard; 0.35% cashback (capped at £500 per calendar year per Debit Card). Non-sterling payments outside GBP/EUR/SEK/RON: 2.75% (min £1.50); cash withdrawals 3.75% (min £1.50).
Protection
Product page: 'protection on your combined eligible deposits with Virgin Money and Nationwide up to £120,000. Provided through the Financial Services Compensation Scheme (FSCS).' (https://uk.virginmoney.com/service/fscs/)
Notes
Business Banking Tariff Guide: Monthly Fee £6.50 per month; Auto Debit £0.30 per debit; Auto Credit £0.30 per credit; Manual Debit/Credit £0.70. Product page (https://uk.virginmoney.com/business/current-accounts/business-current-account/): '25 months' free day-to-day banking ... After enjoying 25 months' free, you'll automatically start paying £6.50 per month'; during the offer 'No payment charges on UK bank transfers'; for sole traders, limited companies and LLPs 'with an annual turnover less than £6.5million'; not for clubs, charities or societies; integrations with Xero, Sage and QuickBooks from Business Internet Banking and the app. Registered charities with turnover under £1m get no monthly fee or transaction charges on this tariff.

Go to Virgin Money → Published tariff we read Read on 5 September 2026. Spotted a change? Tell us.

The Co-operative Bank logoThe Co-operative BankBusiness Directplus £7after 30 months free 35p Cash paid in: £1,000 free per charging period and 80p per… ✓ FSCS co-operativebank.co.ukchecked 5 September 2026
Who can open it
sole trader, partnership, llp, limited company
Monthly fee
£7 (after 30 months free)
Electronic payments
35p
Cash deposits
Cash paid in: £1,000 free per charging period and 80p per £100 thereafter. Cash and cheques paid in at Post Office: 80p per credit (in addition). Cash exchanged £1.60 per £100. · free allowance: £1,000 cash per charging period free.
Cheques
Cheques paid in: 25 free per charging period and 75p each thereafter. Cheques issued: introductory tariff 10 free per charging period then 50p each; standard tariff 50p; 70p if balance falls below £1,000.
International payments
Not published
Multi-currency
Branch access
Yes
Overdraft
Yes
Cards
Debit card (debit card purchases free on introductory tariff, 35p standard, 70p if balance falls below £1,000).
Protection
FSCS Information Sheet linked (https://www.co-operativebank.co.uk/assets/pdf/bank/global/fscs.pdf); single £120,000 limit shared with Coventry Building Society if the proposed transfer completes.
Notes
Tariff effective 31 March 2025. Monthly service charge: Free for first 30 months (new-to-bank, credit balance above £1,000 at all times); Standard Tariff £7; £7 if balance falls below £1,000 at any time in the charging period. Automated debits: Free (introductory), 35p (standard, balance above £1,000), 70p (balance below £1,000); automated and manual credits free. Product page (https://www.co-operativebank.co.uk/business/products/bank-accounts/business-directplus/): 'For businesses of all sizes that occasionally pay in cash or cheques'; 'Banking limits and £1000 minimum balance apply'. Eligibility: 18+, UK resident with UK business address, no CCJs/bankruptcy/IVAs in six years, and 'Sole trader, Partnership, Limited liability partnership, Limited company'. International charges follow the same schedule as the Business Bank Account tariff (SEPA free; SWIFT 0.25% min £13 max £35 by phone/writing, £10 online) but were not re-read in this PDF, so left null here.

Go to The Co-operative Bank → Published tariff we read Read on 5 September 2026. Spotted a change? Tell us.

Metro BankMetro BankBusiness Bank Account £8after 12 months free 30p Cash deposited, withdrawn, or exchanged in Store: 1.00% ✓ FSCS metrobankonline.co.ukchecked 5 September 2026
Who can open it
sole trader, limited company, llp
Monthly fee
£8 (after 12 months free)
Electronic payments
30p
Cash deposits
Cash deposited, withdrawn, or exchanged in Store: 1.00% (excludes ATM withdrawals). Post Office: 'Post Office services are subject to request and approval. Post Office cash processing charges may vary.' · free allowance: 31 Month Full Switcher Offer: 'free cash transactions (withdrawn, deposited or exchanged) up to £10,000 per month'. The 12-month new-to-bank offer excludes cash.
Cheques
Cheques deposited (Store and Post Office) and cheque payments: £0.30 each (part of the 30 free transactions per month in a month where the balance remains at £6,000 or above). USD cheque deposit $13 (£10) up to $6,500, $25 (£20) above.
International payments
International payment SWIFT £25; SEPA £0.20; CHAPS £25. 'When making or receiving a payment between two different currencies ... a foreign exchange (FX) margin will be applied to your exchange rate' (rate on metrobankonline.co.uk). Debit card outside listed European countries: 2.99% non-sterling transaction fee (+£1.50 for cash withdrawals).
Multi-currency
Branch access
Yes
Overdraft
Yes
Cards
Debit card (free card purchases and cash withdrawals in listed European countries).
Protection
Product page: 'Deposits are protected by the Financial Services Compensation Scheme up to £120,000 for eligible businesses.' Metro Bank PLC is authorised by the PRA.
Notes
Important Information Summary 'correct as of 22nd July 2026'. Account maintenance fee £8 a month; 'If your Business Bank Account balance stays at £6,000 or above for any whole month we'll waive the monthly maintenance fee and give you 30 free transactions for that month'; otherwise UK transactions £0.30 each (cheques, debit card payments, Direct Debits, Faster Payments, standing orders, inward payments, ATM withdrawals). Eligibility: 18+, 'turnover and/or annual balance sheet total that does not exceed £2 million', 'sole trader, limited company, limited guarantee, or limited liability partnership'. Offers: 12 months fee-free banking for new-to-bank customers; 31 months fee-free plus free cash to £10,000/month for full CASS switchers. Unarranged overdraft 25% EAR; business overdraft up to £60,000 advertised. Product page mentions 'automated bank feeds' and 'Invoice It' but names no accounting packages. Product page: https://www.metrobankonline.co.uk/business/current-accounts/products/business-bank-account/

Go to Metro Bank → Published tariff we read Read on 5 September 2026. Spotted a change? Tell us.

Barclays logoBarclaysBusiness Account £8.50after 12 months free Free Cash in ✓ FSCS barclays.co.ukchecked 5 September 2026
Who can open it
Not stated
Monthly fee
£8.50 (after 12 months free)
Electronic payments
Free
Cash deposits
Cash in - cash machine/Post Office/Barclays Collect/self-service devices: 60p per £100. Cash in/out - counter (assisted): £1.20 per £100.
Cheques
Cheques in - Barclays app/self-service device: 60p each. Cheques in - counter/Barclays Collect/Post Office (assisted): £1.20 each. Cheques out: 60p each.
International payments
SEPA credit transfer in app/Online Banking: £0.35 (assisted £1.50). Barclays International Payments Service (BIPS) in app/Online Banking: £15 (assisted £25). USD cover charge £3. Optional overseas bank charge £4, £6 or £12. Receiving BIPS over £100: £6; receiving SEPA/euro from EEA: £0. Currency conversion charge 'no more than 2% for business customers' over the Barclays Reference Exchange Rate. CHAPS £15 online / £25 assisted.
Multi-currency
Branch access
Yes
Overdraft
Yes
Cards
Debit card (debit card payments free). 2.75% non-sterling transaction fee when using the debit card abroad or in a non-sterling currency.
Protection
Product page carries the 'FSCS Protected' marker (https://www.barclays.co.uk/business-banking/accounts/business-current-account/). Compensation limit not stated on the tariff PDF.
Notes
Tariff: 'Per month (first 12 months): Free; Per month (thereafter): £8.50'. Footnote: 'Businesses with existing Barclays business current accounts are ineligible for this offer'. 'Simple electronic payments' (Faster Payments, Direct Debits, standing orders via Online Banking/app) are free; 'Assisted electronic payments' £1.50 each. Unarranged overdraft interest 29.5% per annum. Eligibility by business type not published as a list on the page read (it asks for Companies House number 'if your business is a limited company' and details of 'directors or partners'). Product page advertises a Sage accounting offer (12 months free) but does not list bank-feed integrations. Tariff PDF version UK_0324.

Go to Barclays → Published tariff we read Read on 5 September 2026. Spotted a change? Tell us.

Santander logoSantanderBusiness Current Account - Classic £9.99after 12 months free Free £1.25 for every £100 over the £1,000 monthly limit at San… ✓ FSCS Xero assets.santandermedia.comchecked 5 September 2026
Who can open it
sole trader, partnership, llp, limited company
Monthly fee
£9.99 (after 12 months free)
Electronic payments
Free
Cash deposits
£1.25 for every £100 over the £1,000 monthly limit at Santander cash machines; £1.25 for every £100 paid in over Santander counters and at Post Office counters. Cash withdrawals at Santander branch or Post Office counters £1.25 per £100 (Santander cash machines free). · free allowance: 'In each monthly billing period, you can pay in up to £1,000 in cash at Santander cash machines without charge.' Unused allowance does not carry over.
Cheques
£0.70 for each cheque deposited (branch counter, cash machines, Mobile Banking app, post or Post Office).
International payments
Not in the Key Facts Document. Product page: 'We charge for non-standard transactions like change-giving, CHAPS payments and foreign currency transactions. Please see the General Terms and Conditions ... for full details.'
Multi-currency
Branch access
Yes
Overdraft
Yes
Cards
Debit card; operator card; cash card (with instant access savings account); cash deposit card (Post Office only); change giving card.
Protection
Key Facts Document includes the FSCS Information sheet & Exclusions List; product page: 'With the Financial Services Compensation Scheme, your business's money is covered for up to £120,000.'
Notes
Key Facts Document effective 28 April 2026. Eligibility: 'are a sole trader or your business is a partnership, limited liability partnership or private limited company registered in the UK' with 'a maximum of two directors, owners (shareholders) or partners who are 18 or over and live in the UK'. Fee £9.99 per month; start-up offer (trading less than 12 months, first business current account with Santander) and switcher offer (CASS): no maintenance fee for the first 12 months. UK electronic payment fees are not in the KFD ('We also charge fees for certain payments and other services. You can find details of those in the general terms'); the product page says 'make multiple payments in one go at no extra fee'. Arranged overdraft £500-£25,000: 14.94% EAR representative (variable), annual fee 1.75% of limit (minimum £100); unarranged 14.94% EAR; no unpaid/paid item fee. Xero: 6 months free plus gift-card offer for new Xero customers. Product page: https://www.santander.co.uk/business/current-accounts/business-current-account-classic/ Electronic payment fee from https://assets.santandermedia.com/adobe/assets/urn:aaid:aem:f283bd9f-9a4d-48d0-86bd-57412b1a4d6f/original/as/Business_Banking_General_Terms_and_Conditions_ANB90361APR26PUBCDT.pdf (read 2026-09-05).

Go to Santander → Published tariff we read Read on 5 September 2026. Spotted a change? Tell us.

HSBC logoHSBCBusiness Banking Account £10after 12 months free Free Branch: 'Branch credit' £1.50 per credit plus 'Cash in' 1… ✓ FSCS business.hsbc.ukchecked 5 September 2026
Who can open it
Not stated
Monthly fee
£10 (after 12 months free)
Electronic payments
Free
Cash deposits
Branch: 'Branch credit' £1.50 per credit plus 'Cash in' 1.50% of the value deposited. Post Office: £1.50 per credit plus 1.50% of the value deposited. Bulk cash at HSBC Cash Centre: 30p per credit plus 0.35% of value. · free allowance: 12 months free banking for start-up and switcher customers on the primary account: 'all standard day-to-day current account transactions are free' during the period.
Cheques
Mobile cheque deposit: 50p per cheque. Branch: £1.50 branch credit plus 50p per cheque collected. Post Office: £1.50 per cheque credit plus 50p per cheque.
International payments
International payment by Business Internet Banking £17.00; by telephone or branch £20.00-£30.00; by post £40.00. SEPA Credit Transfer sent 24p; received 20p. Global Wallet pay SWIFT £17.00 per transaction.
Multi-currency
Branch access
Yes
Overdraft
Yes
Cards
Not published
Protection
HSBC UK Bank plc; business.hsbc.uk links to its FSCS information sheet (https://www.business.hsbc.uk/-/media/media/uk/pdfs/generic/rfb1085-financial-services-compensation-scheme-information-sheet.pdf). Limit not stated in the price list.
Notes
Business Price List dated 15 December 2025. 'Who's eligible? Business Banking customers. These are typically small and medium sized enterprises with product needs that require support from a dedicated Relationship Manager.' Monthly fee £10.00. 'If you're a Business Banking start-up or switcher customer, we offer 12 months of free banking on primary Business Banking Accounts'; a start-up is 'a customer within their first two years of trading that doesn't already have a bank account with another bank'. Transaction charges are the same table as the Small Business Banking Account. Business-type eligibility not published in the price list.

Go to HSBC → Published tariff we read Read on 5 September 2026. Spotted a change? Tell us.

Lloyds logoLloydsBusiness Account £10after 12 months free Free Cash paid in at branch counter, ATM, depositpoint, Nights… ✓ FSCS Xero lloydsbank.comchecked 5 September 2026
Who can open it
sole trader, limited company
Monthly fee
£10 (after 12 months free)
Electronic payments
Free
Cash deposits
Cash paid in at branch counter, ATM, depositpoint, Nightsafe, Post Office or other third-party method: £1.60 for every £100 (plus £0.85 'credit paid in' at branch counter/ATM/depositpoint). Cash paid in via Immediate Deposit Machine or Automated Deposit Machine: £0.85 for every £100. Cash exchanged £2.50 per £100; cash paid out £1.60 per £100.
Cheques
Cheque paid in at branch counter, ATM, depositpoint, Nightsafe, postal or third-party method: £1.20. Cheque paid in via Immediate Deposit Machine or Business Mobile Banking App: £0.85. Cheque paid out: £1.20. Stopped cheque £10.
International payments
International Payment via Internet banking £15; instructed in branch or via Relationship Manager £28. Basic Euro Moneymover (SEPA) Credit Transfer £5. Correspondent bank fee (OUR) £12 Zone 1 / £20 Zone 2. Receiving electronic payments from abroad: £2 up to £100, £7 over £100 (no charge for euro payments received from the EEA or UK). CHAPS £30.
Multi-currency
Yes
Branch access
Yes
Overdraft
Yes
Cards
Free debit card (Business Debit Card). Abroad: 2.75% non-sterling transaction fee; non-euro ATM withdrawals also 1.5% cash fee (min £1.50).
Protection
Lloyds Bank plc; product page links to 'more about FSCS' (https://www.lloydsbank.com/business/savings/financial-services-compensation-scheme.html). Limit not stated on the pages read.
Notes
Account Charges and Processing Times brochure 'Applies from July 2026': 'General account maintenance fee £10.00 for each account'; Direct debits, Faster payment debits, Internet bulk payments, Internet/Phonebank debits, standing orders and all automated/Faster Payment credits 'Included at no extra cost'. Product page (https://www.lloydsbank.com/business/business-accounts/startup-small-businesses.html): 'No account fee for 12 months if it's your first Business Account with us. Then £10 a month'; open online if estimated turnover for the next 12 months is under £3 million; 'you can apply if you're running your new business as a freelancer, sole trader or limited company'. Xero: 6-month free subscription offer plus free Making Tax Digital software for sole traders. Multi-currency via separate Euro Current Account (£24/year) and Foreign Currency Account (£60/year). Unauthorised overdraft returned item fee £7.

Go to Lloyds → Published tariff we read Read on 5 September 2026. Spotted a change? Tell us.

About this comparison

App-only providers have no branches at all; several banks that do have branches route business cash through the Post Office or a machine instead of the counter, sometimes at a different fee. This list is limited to plans whose provider states branch access on the pages we read. Whether a branch is near you is, of course, not something a tariff can tell you.

Read the guide: How to switch business bank account with CASS

How we make money

No provider on this page pays us, and every link goes to the provider's own published tariff. Full disclosure →

Bank Solutions publishes information built from providers' published terms. It is not financial advice and does not take your circumstances into account. Fees change; the provider's current page is definitive. Corrections: editor@banksolutions.uk.