Bank Solutions

Business bank accounts with no monthly fee

Plans whose published tariff has no ongoing monthly charge. Introductory free periods are not counted - those plans appear in the full comparison with the fee that applies afterwards.

14 plans from 12 providers · Last checked 5 September 2026 · Compiled by Sam Allcock · How we compare

14 plans
Cash deposits Protection Integrations Source
Allica Bank logoAllica BankBusiness Rewards Account £0no monthly fee Free ✓ FSCS Xero, Sage, QuickBooks +1 allica.bankchecked 5 September 2026
Who can open it
Not stated
Monthly fee
£0 (no monthly fee)
Electronic payments
Free
Cash deposits
Not published
Cheques
Not published
International payments
Outgoing international transfer: 'Wise transfer fee and exchange rate applies. No Allica Bank fees' ('Fees will be higher if sending via SWIFT network'). International card payment: 'Foreign exchange charged at Visa exchange rate, no Allica fee'. Outgoing international limit £250,000 per transaction. Wise Acceptable Use Policy restrictions apply to some sectors.
Multi-currency
Branch access
Overdraft
Yes
Cards
Debit card; 'up to 20 virtual cards per employee'; cashback 1% on settled card transactions, 1.5% after £10,000 card spend in a month.
Protection
Product page: 'All our current accounts and savings accounts are covered by the Financial Services Compensation Scheme (FSCS). This means that, should anything happen to Allica Bank, any eligible deposit of up to £120,000 will be protected.' FSCS sheet: https://www.allica.bank/fscs-information-sheet
Notes
Fees page: 'Customers whose balance falls below an average of £10,000 in the previous month will incur a £25 monthly fee. This does not apply to customers who hold an active loan product (including an overdraft) with Allica Bank.' 'Faster Payments are free for up to 150 transactions per month, after which a £0.12 fee applies per payment.' CHAPS outgoing £20 per transaction. Eligibility (product page https://www.allica.bank/business-current-account): 'UK residents aged 18 or over with a business that's been up and running for at least 12 months who are able to deposit £50,000 or more from their registered business' or have an active Allica loan product; 'incorporated for a minimum of 12 months'. Business-type list not published for this account, so eligibility left empty. Cash and cheque handling not published. Up to 4.08% AER on linked Savings Pot.

Go to Allica Bank → Published tariff we read Read on 5 September 2026. Spotted a change? Tell us.

ANNA Money logoANNA MoneyFree £0no monthly fee Free e-money Xero anna.moneychecked 5 September 2026
Who can open it
limited company, partnership, sole trader
Monthly fee
£0 (no monthly fee)
Electronic payments
Free
Cash deposits
Not published
Cheques
Not published
International payments
SWIFT payments available; '1% currency conversion fee for transfers'. Incoming CHAPS payments only.
Multi-currency
Branch access
Overdraft
Cards
1 card; unlimited free expense cards; free ATM withdrawals.
Protection
Pricing page footer: 'Funds in your main ANNA account are safeguarded in accordance with the Electronic Money Regulations 2011 and are not protected by the Financial Services Compensation Scheme (FSCS).' Accounts and cards issued by PayrNet Limited (EMI, FRN 900594). Separate savings via Griffin Bank are FSCS-eligible up to £120,000.
Notes
Pricing page: '£0 Pay for what you use'; 'Unlimited outgoing transfers'; 'Receive up to £1,000 incoming payments free each month, 0.95% commission after that.' 'If you don't use your account for a month, you don't pay the monthly fee for that month.' Eligibility from homepage (https://anna.money/): 'any UK resident who is a director of a limited company, and non-limited businesses that are structured as a partnership or sole trader'. Cash and cheque deposits not mentioned on the pricing page. Auto Accountant first 4 months free, then £29/mo; VAT return filing £4.50 + VAT per filing.

Go to ANNA Money → Published tariff we read Read on 5 September 2026. Spotted a change? Tell us.

HSBC logoHSBCSmall Business Banking Account £0no monthly fee Free Branch: 'Branch credit' £1.50 per credit plus 'Cash in' 1… ✓ FSCS business.hsbc.ukchecked 5 September 2026
Who can open it
Not stated
Monthly fee
£0 (no monthly fee)
Electronic payments
Free
Cash deposits
Branch: 'Branch credit' £1.50 per credit plus 'Cash in' 1.50% of the value deposited. Post Office: 'Post Office counter cash credit' £1.50 per credit plus 'Post Office cash in' 1.50% of the value deposited. Bulk cash at HSBC Cash Centre: 30p per credit plus 0.35% of value.
Cheques
Mobile cheque deposit (HSBC UK Business Banking app): 50p per cheque. Branch: £1.50 branch credit plus 50p per cheque collected. Post Office: £1.50 per cheque credit plus 50p per cheque. Stopped cheque £10.00; returned cheque £4.00.
International payments
International payment by Business Internet Banking £17.00; by Business Telephone Banking or in branch £20.00 (to another HSBC Group bank) / £30.00 (to another bank or in a foreign currency within the UK); by post £40.00. Payment sent by SEPA Credit Transfer 24p. Payments received by SEPA 20p. Global Wallet: receive/pay like a local £5.00 per transaction, pay SWIFT £17.00 per transaction.
Multi-currency
Branch access
Yes
Overdraft
Yes
Cards
Not published
Protection
HSBC UK Bank plc; business.hsbc.uk links to its FSCS information sheet (https://www.business.hsbc.uk/-/media/media/uk/pdfs/generic/rfb1085-financial-services-compensation-scheme-information-sheet.pdf). Limit not stated in the price list.
Notes
Business Price List dated 15 December 2025. 'Who's eligible? Small Business Banking customers. These are typically small enterprises with borrowing needs of up to £100k and whose everyday banking needs don't need the support of a Relationship Manager.' Monthly fee: Free. 'From 1 July 2025, we stopped offering a free banking period on primary Small Business Banking Accounts.' Electronic payments: 'Automated credits: Free', 'Direct Debit or standing order: Free', 'Internal transfer: Free' (a separate Faster Payment debit line was not located in the pages read; the 0 reflects the stated free items). Cash machine withdrawal 25p per withdrawal plus 0.60% of the value. Business-type eligibility (sole trader/limited company) not published in the price list and HSBC product pages were not retrievable. Price list lists Global Wallet and Foreign Currency Account charges but does not say which accounts they attach to.

Go to HSBC → Published tariff we read Read on 5 September 2026. Spotted a change? Tell us.

Mettle (NatWest)Mettle (NatWest)Mettle business account £0no monthly fee Cash deposit ✓ FSCS FreeAgent mettle.co.ukchecked 5 September 2026
Who can open it
sole trader, limited company
Monthly fee
£0 (no monthly fee)
Electronic payments
Cash deposits
Cash deposit (made through the Post Office): £2.75 per deposit ('applied to your Mettle account after the funds have been credited').
Cheques
Not published
International payments
Inbound (above £10 in value): '£4 fixed fee, plus a 1.5% fee if we need to convert from a foreign currency into GBP'. Inbound (below £10): 'No fixed fee, only a 1.5% fee if we need to convert'. Outbound international payment fees not listed in the Fee Information Document.
Multi-currency
Branch access
Overdraft
Cards
Mastercard debit card; cash withdrawal (card) £1.00 per withdrawal; replacement card £5.00 if lost or damaged, free if stolen. Mastercard Business Bonus.
Protection
Fee page: 'This account is protected by the Financial Services Compensation Scheme (FSCS). This means eligible deposits are protected up to £120,000.' 'The Mettle bank account is provided by National Westminster Bank plc trading as Mettle.' Note the same page also states, for legacy accounts: 'The Mettle e-money account is provided by PPS ... Financial Services Compensation Scheme (FSCS) protection does not apply to electronic money institutions.' FSCS key information: https://www.mettle.co.uk/fscs-key-information/
Notes
Fee Information Document: account 'No fee'; optional Mettle+ '£4 a month'. UK electronic payment fees are not listed in the document (only cash, card and inbound international fees appear), so left null. Cheque deposits not mentioned. Homepage (https://www.mettle.co.uk/): 'Mettle is for sole traders and limited companies with up to two owners (only one owner can access the account)'; balance limit up to £1 million; owners must be UK tax residents; 'Get FreeAgent accounting software included with Mettle' (needs at least one transaction a month). NatWest page states its free-banking offer is 'Not currently available for Mettle accounts'.

Go to Mettle (NatWest) → Published tariff we read Read on 5 September 2026. Spotted a change? Tell us.

Monzo Business logoMonzo BusinessLite £0no monthly fee Free 'Cash deposit: £1 per deposit to pay in cash at any PayPo… ✓ FSCS monzo.comchecked 5 September 2026
Who can open it
sole trader, limited company
Monthly fee
£0 (no monthly fee)
Electronic payments
Free
Cash deposits
'Cash deposit: £1 per deposit to pay in cash at any PayPoint or Post Office'.
Cheques
Not published
International payments
Until 31 October 2026: sending a payment in a foreign currency costs a fixed amount 'no more than £9' plus a variable amount 'between 0% and 1.80%'. From 1 November 2026: 'For most currencies, the fee is less than £0.80, but it may be up to £11 in some cases.' Receiving EUR or other foreign currency: '1% currency conversion fee (capped at £1,000)'. Debit card payment in foreign currency £0; cash withdrawals outside the EEA £0 up to £200 in a rolling 30-day period, then 3%.
Multi-currency
No
Branch access
No
Overdraft
Yes
Cards
Debit card (debit card payment in pounds £0; UK cash withdrawals £0).
Protection
Plans page: 'FSCS protection up to £120,000 on eligible deposits'. FSCS information: https://monzo.com/legal/business-account-fscs-information ('£120,000 per depositor per bank'; 'Eligible deposits in business accounts are treated as if made by a single depositor'). Monzo Bank Limited, PRA-authorised.
Notes
Fee Information v1.16 dated 18 August 2026: 'Maintaining the account (Lite): £0'; 'Sending money within the UK: £0'; Direct Debit/standing order £0. Plans page (https://monzo.com/business-banking/plans-pricing): 'Only sole traders or limited company directors in the UK can apply'; Lite 'is free'; 'Sole trader loans and overdrafts (if eligible)'. Multi-currency false because 'We convert any payments you get in EUR to GBP before the money appears in your account'. No cheque fee listed in the Fee Information document ('Deposit cash and cheques' is listed as a feature). Branch access false: cash via PayPoint/Post Office, mobile and web access only. Accounting integrations are a Pro/Team feature ('connect Xero and others').

Go to Monzo Business → Published tariff we read Read on 5 September 2026. Spotted a change? Tell us.

NatWest logoNatWestBusiness Current Account £0no monthly fee · 24-month free-banking period 35p Cash payments ✓ FSCS FreeAgent natwest.comchecked 5 September 2026
Who can open it
Not stated
Monthly fee
£0 (no monthly fee · 24-month free-banking period)
Electronic payments
35p
Cash deposits
Cash payments (in or out) at branch counter, Post Office counter, Cash & Deposit Machine or Business Quick Deposit: £0.95 per £100, plus £0.95 manual payment charge per item. · free allowance: Switchers: '2 years of free banking from the date the switch is completed' (annual turnover up to £2 million, full Current Account Switch Service). For accounts opened on or after 20 April 2026 free banking is lost if cash deposits exceed £200,000 in any 12-month period.
Cheques
Cheques paid in via Mobile App: £0.75 per item. Branch/Post Office: £0.95 per cheque plus £0.95 manual transaction charge. Cheques paid out: £0.95 per item.
International payments
Not in the charges leaflet: 'For full details on fees and charges for our CHAPS and international services please refer to our website or talk to your Relationship Manager.' Debit card abroad: Non-Sterling Transaction Fee 2.75%.
Multi-currency
Branch access
Yes
Overdraft
Yes
Cards
Not published
Protection
National Westminster Bank Plc. Product page: 'FSCS deposit protection (eligibility criteria apply)'; FSCS information sheet linked at https://www.natwest.com/content/dam/natwest/business/site-wide/documents/FSCS-Information-Sheet-NW-Business-Banking.pdf
Notes
Same Standard Charges leaflet as the Start-up account (no monthly charge; £0.35 automated payments). Product page (https://www.natwest.com/business/bank-accounts/business-bank-account.html): 'For businesses who've been trading for over a year or less than a year with turnover more than £1m'; '2 years' free banking on everyday transactions when your switch is completed'; 'Businesses over £500k turnover get expert support from our Relationship Managers'; 'Not currently available for Mettle accounts'. Bankline (for complex needs) has a separate monthly fee.

Go to NatWest → Published tariff we read Read on 5 September 2026. Spotted a change? Tell us.

NatWest logoNatWestStart-up Business Account £0no monthly fee · 24-month free-banking period 35p Cash payments ✓ FSCS FreeAgent natwest.comchecked 5 September 2026
Who can open it
Not stated
Monthly fee
£0 (no monthly fee · 24-month free-banking period)
Electronic payments
35p
Cash deposits
Cash payments (in or out) at a NatWest/RBS branch counter, Post Office counter, Cash & Deposit Machine or Business Quick Deposit: £0.95 per £100, plus a manual payment charge of £0.95 per item. Cash Centre notes in £0.30 per £100, coin £0.60 per £100. · free allowance: During the 2-year free banking period standard day-to-day charges do not apply. For accounts opened on or after 20 April 2026: 'if your cash deposits into your account exceed £200,000 in any 12-month period, you'll no longer qualify for free banking'.
Cheques
Cheques paid in via Mobile App: £0.75 per item. Cheques paid in at branch/Post Office: £0.95 per cheque plus £0.95 manual transaction charge (e.g. three cheques = £3.80). Cheques paid out: charged as manual payments £0.95 per item.
International payments
Not in the charges leaflet: 'For full details on fees and charges for our CHAPS and international services please refer to our website or talk to your Relationship Manager.' Debit card abroad: Non-Sterling Transaction Fee 2.75%.
Multi-currency
Branch access
Yes
Overdraft
Yes
Cards
Not published
Protection
National Westminster Bank Plc. Product page: 'FSCS deposit protection (eligibility criteria apply)'; FSCS information sheet linked at https://www.natwest.com/content/dam/natwest/business/site-wide/documents/FSCS-Information-Sheet-NW-Business-Banking.pdf
Notes
Charges leaflet 'Correct as at 20th April 2026': 'Our Business Current Account and Foundation Account have no monthly charge on our Standard Charges'; 'Automated payments (in or out) £0.35 per item' (Direct Debits, standing orders, automated credits, Internet Faster Payments, ATM withdrawals); other non-automated payments £1.00 per item. Free banking: 'New business (Start-ups) - You've started a business within the last 12 months with a projected or existing annual turnover that doesn't exceed £1 million ... 2 years of free banking from the date the account is opened'. Product page (https://www.natwest.com/business/bank-accounts/startup-bank-account.html): 'available for businesses that have been trading for less than 1 year and have a turnover of less than £1m'; 'FreeAgent is free for as long as you retain your bank account'. Business-type eligibility list not published on the page read. Unarranged overdraft: paid referral fee £20, unpaid item fee £12, interest 15% per annum.

Go to NatWest → Published tariff we read Read on 5 September 2026. Spotted a change? Tell us.

Starling Bank logoStarling BankBusiness Current Account £0no monthly fee Free Post Office deposits: '0.7% fee ✓ FSCS Xero, QuickBooks, FreeAgent starlingbank.comchecked 5 September 2026
Who can open it
limited company, llp
Monthly fee
£0 (no monthly fee)
Electronic payments
Free
Cash deposits
Post Office deposits: '0.7% fee (minimum £3 fee)'; daily limit £5,000, annual limit £100,000.
Cheques
Cheque deposits 'free, via freepost or in the app'.
International payments
'Send payments to accounts in 34 different countries'; 'spend and withdraw abroad with no fees from us'. Per-payment international transfer fee not stated on the page read.
Multi-currency
Branch access
No
Overdraft
Cards
One debit card included; free ATM withdrawals (up to 6 per day, £300 daily limit).
Protection
FSCS logo and leaflet on the product page; Starling's FSCS page: https://www.starlingbank.com/legal/account/fscs-protection/
Notes
Page: 'No monthly fees'; 'No fees on UK payments, in or out'. Eligibility: 'Limited Company or limited liability partnership (LLP) registered at Companies House', all persons of significant control and directors UK residents, applicant over 18 and both a PSC and a director/limited partner; not available to sole traders, general partnerships or unincorporated charities (Starling has a separate Sole Trader account, not readable - see providers_excluded). Branch access false because cash is via Post Office and cheques via freepost/app only. A separate business fee-information document was not found on the legal page (only personal-account fee documents listed).

Go to Starling Bank → Published tariff we read Read on 5 September 2026. Spotted a change? Tell us.

The Co-operative Bank logoThe Co-operative BankBusiness Bank Account £0no monthly fee Free Cash paid in or out: £1.50 per £100. ✓ FSCS co-operativebank.co.ukchecked 5 September 2026
Who can open it
sole trader, partnership, llp, limited company
Monthly fee
£0 (no monthly fee)
Electronic payments
Free
Cash deposits
Cash paid in or out: £1.50 per £100. Cash exchanged £1.60 per £100.
Cheques
Cheques paid in/issued: £1.50 each. Stopped cheque £5.
International payments
SEPA payments in euro to EU/EEA states plus Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Monaco and Switzerland: Free. Structured USD payments: £8 via telephone banking or in writing, £5 via online banking. SWIFT service: 0.25% of the value of the transaction min. £13, max. £35 via telephone banking or in writing; £10 via online banking (plus postage, transmission and agent's charges where applicable). Receiving payments from overseas equivalent to £100 or less: Free. Debit card foreign currency conversion charge 2.75%.
Multi-currency
Branch access
Yes
Overdraft
Yes
Cards
Debit card (debit card purchases free).
Protection
FSCS Information Sheet linked (https://www.co-operativebank.co.uk/assets/pdf/bank/global/fscs.pdf). Page notes a proposed transfer to Coventry Building Society: 'you will have a single FSCS protection limit of £120,000 which will apply to your eligible deposits with the Bank, smile and the Society'.
Notes
Tariff effective from 31 March 2025: 'Monthly service charge: Free'; Automated Debits & Credits, Debit Card Purchases, ATM Withdrawals, Manual Credits: Free. Product page (https://www.co-operativebank.co.uk/business/products/bank-accounts/startup-small-business-account/) 'Ideal for startups and small businesses that bank digitally'; eligibility: 18+, UK resident with UK business address, no CCJs/bankruptcy/IVAs in six years, and 'Sole trader, Partnership, Limited liability partnership, Limited company'. Page mentions 'accountancy software integration' without naming packages. £200 opening offer (to 11 September 2026) with conditions.

Go to The Co-operative Bank → Published tariff we read Read on 5 September 2026. Spotted a change? Tell us.

The Co-operative Bank logoThe Co-operative BankFederation of Small Businesses (FSB) account £0no monthly fee Free Cash paid in: up to £1,000 per charging period free; ✓ FSCS co-operativebank.co.ukchecked 5 September 2026
Who can open it
sole trader, partnership, llp, limited company
Monthly fee
£0 (no monthly fee)
Electronic payments
Free
Cash deposits
Cash paid in: up to £1,000 per charging period free; exceeding £1,000 per charging period 80p per £100. Cash withdrawals free; cash exchanged free. · free allowance: £1,000 cash per charging period free.
Cheques
Cheques paid in: Free. Cheques issued: Free.
International payments
Not published
Multi-currency
Branch access
Yes
Overdraft
Yes
Cards
Debit card (debit card purchases free).
Protection
FSCS Information Sheet and Exclusions List linked on the product page; single £120,000 limit shared with Coventry Building Society if the proposed transfer completes.
Notes
Tariff effective 31 March 2025: Monthly service charge Free; automated credits/debits, manual credits, debit card purchases, ATM withdrawals free. 'Only for members of the Federation of Small Businesses'; 'No arrangement fees on overdrafts'. Product page (https://www.co-operativebank.co.uk/business/products/bank-accounts/federation-of-small-businesses/) eligibility: 'You or your organisation must be a member of the Federation of Small Businesses, and one of the following: Sole trader, Partnership, Limited liability partnership, Limited company'.

Go to The Co-operative Bank → Published tariff we read Read on 5 September 2026. Spotted a change? Tell us.

Tide logoTideFree £0no monthly fee 20p Post Office: £2.50 for deposits up to £500 on all plans. e-money tide.cochecked 5 September 2026
Who can open it
Not stated
Monthly fee
£0 (no monthly fee)
Electronic payments
20p
Cash deposits
Post Office: £2.50 for deposits up to £500 on all plans. For amounts over £500, fees are 0.99% on Free plans and 0.5% on Smart, Pro, and Max plans. PayPoint: 3% per deposit, with a £10 minimum deposit and a maximum deposit limit of £500 per day. GBP cheque deposits: 70p per cheque, plus a 20p standard transaction fee.
Cheques
Not published
International payments
International card payments: 2.75% FX fee. International bank transfers, SWIFT payments and SWIFT payments (foreign currency) listed as available; per-payment fees not shown on the pricing page. CHAPS payments: not available on Free.
Multi-currency
Branch access
No
Overdraft
Cards
Business card (UK card payments included); no Team Cards on Free.
Protection
Pricing page footer: 'Tide is not a bank.' 'Tide is authorised by the FCA under the Electronic Money Regulations 2011 (FRN: 900843) to issue e-money'. 'Banking & Savings: Tide current and savings accounts are powered by ClearBank Ltd (FRN: 754568) ... Eligible deposits are protected up to £120,000 per depositor by the FSCS, across all accounts with ClearBank.' 'E-money accounts: Some Tide members hold e-money accounts (sort code: 23-69-72) powered by PrePay Technologies Limited (PPT) (FRN: 900010) ... PPT holds an amount equivalent to the money in these accounts in a safeguarding account, protecting member funds against PPT's insolvency.' Set to null because protection depends on which account type the member holds. Source: https://www.tide.co/pricing/
Notes
Pricing page: 'Essential tools for getting started. No plan fee.' Bank transfers: '5/month' included; footnote in the page data: '*We charge 0.20p for each bank transfer.' and '*We charge 0.20p for each direct debit payment.' 'Cash and cheque deposits' shown as included on all plans but the fee is not published on the pricing page. Xero Connector is Smart and above only; 'Third-party accounting integration' ticked on all plans but no packages named for Free. Invoicing 3/month. Eligibility not stated on the pricing page (marketing line: 'trusted by over 2 million sole traders, freelancers, and limited companies'). Branch access false: 'Tide is not a bank'; app and web log-in only.

Go to Tide → Published tariff we read Read on 5 September 2026. Spotted a change? Tell us. Referral link. Bank Solutions is paid a referral reward if you open an account through this link; Tide currently pays new members a £100 reward for joining through a referral: enter code O68AQL at sign-up (or within 7 days) and spend £500 on your Tide card within 90 days - Tide's referral terms apply. It does not change where Tide sits in this table. How we make money

Virgin Money logoVirgin MoneyM Account for Business £0no monthly fee Free Cash Paid In ✓ FSCS Xero, Sage, QuickBooks uk.virginmoney.comchecked 5 September 2026
Who can open it
sole trader, limited company, llp
Monthly fee
£0 (no monthly fee)
Electronic payments
Free
Cash deposits
Cash Paid In (at branch or Post Office): £0.90 per £100, plus Manual Credit £0.95 per credit for transactions in branch/Post Office. Cash Paid Out £0.90 per £100; Cash Exchanged (over £100) £1.80 per £100.
Cheques
Cheque Remitted (paid in): £0.00 via App; £0.55 via Branch.
International payments
SWIFT £17.50 via Business Internet Banking or £25.00 via Branch and telephone banking; SEPA no charge. Inward: SEPA no charge; SWIFT over £100 (or equivalent) £7.00 except euro/SEK/RON from within the EEA (no charge). CHAPS £17.50 online / £25.00 branch or telephone.
Multi-currency
Branch access
Yes
Overdraft
Yes
Cards
Business debit card with 0.25% unlimited cashback on debit card spending. Non-sterling card payments outside GBP/EUR/SEK/RON: 2.75% (min £1.50); cash withdrawals 3.75% (min £1.50).
Protection
Product page: 'FSCS protection: Up to £120,000 on eligible deposits'. Tariff: 'Nationwide Building Society (trading as Virgin Money)' - Business Current Account page notes protection is on 'combined eligible deposits with Virgin Money and Nationwide up to £120,000'.
Notes
Tariff Guide 'correct as at 19 December 2025': Monthly Fee No charge; Auto Debit and Auto Credit No charge. Post Office cash deposit limits £10,000 daily, £250,000 in any 12 months. Unplanned borrowing 18.90% (20.63% EAR). Product page (https://uk.virginmoney.com/business/current-accounts/m-account-for-business/): 'for businesses with an annual turnover under £1m'; business types offered: Limited company, Sole trader, Limited liability partnership; 'You can't open an M Account for Business if you're a club, charity or society'; 'Sync your accounting tools like Xero, Sage, Shopify and Quickbooks'; Xero free for 6 months offer.

Go to Virgin Money → Published tariff we read Read on 5 September 2026. Spotted a change? Tell us.

Wise Business logoWise BusinessWise Business account £0no monthly fee e-money wise.comchecked 5 September 2026
Who can open it
Not stated
Monthly fee
£0 (no monthly fee)
Electronic payments
Cash deposits
Not published
Cheques
Not published
International payments
'Sending money: Fee varies by currency, From 0.24%'; 'Converting money: Fee varies by currency, From 0.24%'; 'we don't inflate the mid-market exchange rate'; volume discount over 20,000 GBP. Receiving domestic payments (non-Swift) in AUD, CAD, EUR, GBP, HUF, NZD, PHP, SGD, USD: Free. Receiving USD wire/Swift 6.11 USD; GBP Swift 2.16 GBP; EUR Swift 2.39 EUR per payment.
Multi-currency
Yes
Branch access
Overdraft
Cards
Wise Business debit card: spending in the account currency free; ATM withdrawals free up to 250 GBP per month per account, then 2.69% of the amount over; 2% for topping up external e-wallets.
Protection
Wise is an e-money institution, not a bank: 'Wise Payments Limited is authorised as an Electronic Money Institution (EMI) by the UK Financial Conduct Authority (FCA) with registration number 900507' (https://wise.com/help/articles/2932693/how-is-wise-regulated-in-each-country-and-region). Business page: 'Safeguarded: Your money is diversified and held with a secure group of financial institutions.' FSCS is not mentioned on the pages read; FSCS protection does not apply to e-money institutions.
Notes
Pricing page: 'Register for a Wise account: Free'; 'Holding money in your account: Free'; one-off set-up fee 'All in for 50 GBP - Get every Wise Business feature for one set-up fee' / 'Getting account details to receive in 22 currencies: 50 GBP'. A GBP-to-GBP local transfer fee is not shown separately ('Sending money: fee varies by currency'), so left null. No cash or cheque services listed. 'Integrate your Wise account with accounting software' - packages not named on the pages read. Eligibility not stated on the pricing page.

Go to Wise Business → Published tariff we read Read on 5 September 2026. Spotted a change? Tell us. Referral link. Bank Solutions is paid a referral reward if you open an account through this link. It does not change where Wise Business sits in this table. How we make money

Zempler Bank logoZempler BankBusiness Go £0no monthly fee 35p Pay in cash at any UK Post Office: '£4 minimum fee or 0.5… ✓ FSCS Xero, QuickBooks, Sage +1 zemplerbank.comchecked 5 September 2026
Who can open it
limited company, sole trader, charity, partnership
Monthly fee
£0 (no monthly fee)
Electronic payments
35p
Cash deposits
Pay in cash at any UK Post Office: '£4 minimum fee or 0.55% fee will apply to the total amount deposited'. Post Office cash deposit limit £6,000 per day.
Cheques
Not accepted: 'We currently don't allow our customers to deposit cash into their account with a cheque.'
International payments
International inbound payment: 'Up to £22 per payment'. International outbound payment: 'See your app or Online Banking for fees'. Card spend abroad: 2.99% non-sterling transaction fee.
Multi-currency
Branch access
No
Overdraft
Yes
Cards
Card included (upfront card fee Free); additional cards (up to 20) £5.95 each. UK cash withdrawals £2.00, abroad £3.00.
Protection
Pricing page: 'FSCS protection up to £120,000 on eligible deposits: Yes'. Product page: 'We received our banking licence in 2021. Zempler is a fully regulated British bank'. FSCS page: https://www.zemplerbank.com/about/fscs/
Notes
Pricing page: 'Monthly account fee £0/month'; 'Receiving money (payments & transfers): Free & unlimited'; 'Sending money (payments & transfers): 3 free a month (35p after)'. Direct debit rejected payment fee £15 (max £90 a month). Account balance limit £500,000; single outbound bank transfer limit £25,000. Eligibility (product page https://www.zemplerbank.com/business/current-account/business-go/): 'over 18, a UK resident and your business must be based in the UK. We accept applications from limited companies, sole traders, charities, and partnerships.' Accounting: Business Go page names Xero, Quickbooks and Sage; the small-business page (all tiers) names Xero, QuickBooks, Sage and FreeAgent. Branch access false: 'bank in-app or online once approved', cash via Post Office.

Go to Zempler Bank → Published tariff we read Read on 5 September 2026. Spotted a change? Tell us.

About this comparison

"No monthly fee" here means the provider publishes £0 as the ongoing account fee. It does not mean free banking: several of these plans charge per electronic payment, per cash deposit or per cheque, and those charges are in the columns. A plan that is free for 12 or 24 months and then charges is not in this list; it is in the full comparison with a note showing the fee after the free period.

Read the guide: Business bank account fees explained

How we make money

Tide and Wise Business pay us a fixed referral reward when a reader opens an account through our link, labelled "Referral link" where it appears. It has no effect on where those providers sit in this table, which sorts by published figures. No other provider on this page pays us. Full disclosure →

Bank Solutions publishes information built from providers' published terms. It is not financial advice and does not take your circumstances into account. Fees change; the provider's current page is definitive. Corrections: editor@banksolutions.uk.